Enjoy the remote wilderness at a fishing and hunting resort in Northwestern Ontario, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 109 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 23/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi!! Jamie and I have been married for 32 years and have raised 3 wonderful young men. 22 years ago we left the United States to pursue our dream of owning a fishing and hunting resort in Canada. We ended up choosing our little piece of paradise in northwestern Ontario. We are located one hour north of Ignace, Ontario, which is our closest town for mail and groceries. The clientele that we have built up in our business over the years of our ownership really feels more like family to us and is the highlight of our job. It's all about the people and their stories!

    Our resort is a small, seven cabin, five campsite fishing and hunting resort right in the middle of freaking nowhere and is located on a large freshwater lake. We accomodate fishermen and hunters from May-October and are looking for assistance around camp. Daily tasks include gassing boats, cleaning the fish cleaning house, general maintenance, and customer service. For ten weeks of our season we host a weekly camp fish fry, a shared potluck meal with all of our camp guests together.There are numerous activities available for enjoying nature here including kayaking, hiking, boating, ATV riding, bird and wildlife watching, mushroom harvesting, blueberry picking, swimming, fishing, and enjoying the peace and quiet of the wilderness (all of which may be done in your down time here.) If English language practice is something you'd like to work on, you will have so much opportunity for that here.

    We are eager to host energetic, self motivated individuals or couples who enjoy the outdoors and will engage in all of our silliness, activites, and jobs. We try to bring as much fun as we can to all of our chores. (weed whacking for sometimes 3 hours at a time proves somewhat trying, but we plug those earbuds in and go!) We are extremely family oriented and have welcomed previous workaways who have left feeling like our own family. We enjoy entertaining, game playing, puzzle making, crafting, and relaxing on our deck overlooking the lake.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are extremely friendly and outgoing and will do our best to make you feel comfortable and accepted. Being so far from town, we prepare all meals at home! We both enjoy cooking and baking and would love to share this love with you. We have diverse tastes as well and would love for you to share your favorite meals with us, too, if that is something you are willing to do. In addition to sharing our remote wilderness lifestyle and appreciation of nature with you we would love to assist with English learning if that is requested. We would also love to learn about you, your culture, and your stories!

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Helping us will include the daily tasks mentioned above as well as keeping our 3 km driveway and ATV trails accessible and attractive by filling potholes and cutting brush down their sides, assisting with construction and renovations, cabin staining/painting, lawn mowing, and cutting, splitting, and stacking firewood for our wood burning furnace and campfire pit. Saturday is changeover day, so help with cabin cleaning, laundry, and boat washing and prep will be required. We are eager to assist in teaching how to use the necessary equipment needed for this help and will usually be working alongside our Workawayers. This year we are excited to be constructing an outdoor kitchen with wood fired pizza oven! Some tasks are time dependent, and others can be done at any time agreeable by both parties. We are usually quite flexible! We are excited to meet international travelers who already have or will be getting a Canadian open work visa, which allows you to work for any employer in Canada. We are not in a position to provide eligibility for an employer-specific work permit, which means that you can only work here while in Canada.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    In exchange for 25 hours of help per week we will provide lodging in addition to our shared living spaces (large kitchen, living room, dining area, and covered outdoor deck area) as well as three meals per day. Being we have one bedroom to use we are willing to have a single guest or a couple.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 461179296298

Comentarios (3)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Small scale farm help in beautiful Nova Scotia near Wolfville, Canada
Be part of our family and help with little projects in the house and cooking/cleaning on Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada