Help on improving the house and gardens in Masaka, Uganda

Country

Uganda

22 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 15 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! My name is Joseph and I live in a beautiful semi-rural area called Masaka, Uganda.

    I am currently working on improving and completing some projects around my house. It would be a privilege to host volunteers to help me with some practical work, along with building friendships and learning about each other's cultures. I live 5km outside Masaka Town on 0.5 acres. I began building my 6-bedroom house some years ago. The house has a beautiful view overlooking banana plantations and the wetlands. There is water and power, clean, working toilets and showers, and a large kitchen with electrical appliances. There are plenty of free-range animals roaming around the garden. The area is peaceful, safe and welcoming with plenty of friendly locals to walk with you around the village. In the future when this house is completed, there will be accommodation mostly for retired professional people from the Western countries who have lots of practical skills that they can offer to the communities.

    Available tasks include painting, fixing windows, some manual labour around the house, gardening and more. I expect you to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (half day on Saturday). I'm able to provide you accommodation, and you can eat with my family.

    For your free time, there are numerous activities such as walking to Masaka town for some shopping, visiting the nearby villages with schools and churches, enjoy some beverages at local bars, eat at small local restaurants, cook with the delicious organic vegetables available, join local ceremonies and much more.

    I am a very friendly man who loves entertaining visitors and being able to share conversations, ideas and time with them. I enjoy music, dancing, and socialising.

    I own Masaka Backpackers and campsite within a 5-minute walk from my house, where volunteers can meet with other travellers, relax in the hammocks, and share stories.

    I look forward to meeting different people from around the world!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    As I live in a small town, you can experience Ugandan rural life. You can learn about ecosystems, different farming methods, and compare the differences between the developed and the less developed world, and what is development. Often small income is enough for bringing happiness and love to friends and family. When you visit Africa, you can return home with a balanced mind and understanding of the importance of community involvement and social structure.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Volunteers who have skills in building, woodwork and painting are preferred. If you don't have much experience in these skills, you are welcome to assist in any way possible, for example with general maintenance or helping around the house/garden. Sometimes, when there is a water shortage, volunteers can help transporting water from a well.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Luganda, Ganda: Fluido
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Concrete and timber home
    Self contained rooms
    Large kitchen with appliances
    Balcony
    Solar powered hot water

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 541596515848