Looking for some extra hands around gardens filled with both exotic and native plants, on a farm on the East Coast of Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

86 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/04/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We, Julia and Frank have built up our farm in the past 18 years from a run down farm to a place of great beauty. We are situated on the East Coast of Tasmania and as we are 550 metres above sea level we enjoy a commanding view of the coast from Falmouth to St Helens, the rolling timber covered hills and the distant mountains. We have a small herd of cattle and a flock of sheep. As we use biological farming practices all the paddocks and animals are chemical free and enriched with appropriate application of minerals. We grow for health - plant, animal and human. We also have about 1,000 blueberries. Frank goes to the farmers market in Hobart every first and third weekend of the month to sell the meat but the main blueberry crop, harvested between end of January to February, is sent to Sydney. We also have accommodation and the cottage is available for volunteer workers to stay. Julia runs the accommodation and also has two acres of landscaped garden and is still in the process of building stone walls. Over the years we have had many volunteer workers from all over the world and love the company and the exchange of ideas and knowledge. But we also deeply appreciate the help these young people have given - the garden could not have been done without them. We have five dogs at present - two are old and not long for this world, one is a four year old kelpie and we now have two very energetic and feisty kelpie pups to replace the old working dogs. Work here is varied and there is a never ending supply of jobs that keep us young and fit, so volunteer workers are always a welcome sight.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Gardening is probably the top priority. If you like working in gardens you will love this as it has many rooms and hundreds of varieties of plants both exotic and native, surrounded by breathtaking scenery. No great experience needed as the level of work can be suited to ability. Sometimes Julia needs help in maintenance such as painting but mainly gardening. But there are also jobs to do on the farm helping Frank from feeding out cattle and sheep, shearing and marking, (depending on the season), fixing pumps, machinery or such, sometimes welding, packing meat ready for market, making sausages (and eating them - they are delicious) moving irrigation equipment, training the puppy, moving stock around - the list is endless. Frank is currently renovating a new kitchen in the old dairy and help with that would be greatly appreciated. Also young volunteers are invaluable for the internet skills they can teach us.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in the old farm cottage that is used for tourists also. We can accommodate one or two people at a time - single beds only in the cottage. It is separate from the house. We provide the makings for breakfast in the cottage but lunch and dinner, morning coffee etc. is provided in the house. We are not vegetarians but can offer some meatless meals, so vegetarians will have food available to cook for themselves. Not averse to smoking outside.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Volunteers are expected to work about four to five hours so the rest of the day is free. We are flexible so if they want to work a full day and then have the next day off to visit an attraction further afield then that is OK. It is preferable if they have their own transport as we are 8kms from the nearest small town and as there are many interesting and beautiful places to visit, such as national parks and magnificent beaches, a car would be essential. If we are going further afield for shopping or business we always take our volunteers with us to let them see something of the area. But as we lead a very busy life we do not leave the property every day. When friends and family visit the volunteers are naturally included as part of our family.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 526429986981