Help with some general maintenance inside and out on my little island in Shepperton, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

491 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    43  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    A FANTASTIC OPPORTUNITY FOR CULTURAL EXCHANGE AND LEARNING IN A UNIQUE PART OF SURREY IN SOUTH WEST ENGLAND.

    Double vaccination ESSENTIAL!

    I live on a beautiful island on the Thames, in Surrey, with my dog Macey and have the river at the bottom of my garden. This is an incredible, unique environment and perfect for those that enjoy being on or near the water and being very close to nature in a peaceful and relaxing environment.

    Central London with its bright lights is only 18 miles away and easily accessible by train. This is a great location for anyone wanting to head to London for sightseeing, galleries, or to explore.

    The surrounding area offers the beautiful Surrey countryside, well known for cycle routes and amazing walking opportunities. I have bikes that you can use to explore I also have kayaks for exploring the river and a gym in the garden that Workaways can use.

    This really is a great place to come and experience life and learn about culture, history and language etc.

    So this is what I can offer you.....what can you offer me?

    The house is always needing a little loving maintenance throughout the year. Inside and out.
    I am looking for one or two people but I would prefer two.
    You can help me with tasks from walking the dog to painting and decorating; garden maintenance and planting and even sometimes small building projects.
    I am looking for WorkAways with a practical mind and hands-on skills, and those happy to learn.
    It would be helpful if you had previous experience with how tools work, how to chop wood, how to cook etc, but if you haven't, I am happy to show you how.
    It is important that you have a love of and an understanding of dogs.
    You will need lots of energy and (importantly) be self motivated. If you see a task that needs doing you will be happy to crack on and do it. You won’t wait to be asked. You will think ‘outside the box’.
    You will be happy to get up early and embrace the day with a list of tasks. I like WorkAways to work in the morning.
    You will be tidy and organised and seeing tasks through to the end will be important to you.
    Ideally you will have excellent reviews, however if you have the right skills and attitude, this may not be so important.

    I live in Shepperton, Surrey UK

    I look forward to hearing from you.
    Thanks 🙏🏻

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I can offer a lovely home environment with use of bikes. The Surrey countryside is well known for its amazing cycling opportunities. You can cycle to historic castles and palaces and spend days on tow path cycle routes.
    I have kayaks in the garden for use on the river at the bottom of my garden.
    There is a gym in the garden with rowing machine and weights and an outside gym station.
    London is accessible within an hour into the centre of London from the nearest train station (which is Shepperton or Walton On Thames).
    Hamhaugh Island has a unique community feel, where we gather regularly throughout the year, particularly in the summer, to celebrate events and enjoy our amazing environment. We love visitors and they are always welcome!
    If I have time I can help you with your language skills. This can be discussed beforehand. Many thanks 🙏🏻

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    You need be self motivated with energy and a yearning to see the project through to completion.
    A focused and passionate helper - not scared to get you hands dirty.
    I am looking for Workaways with experience in maintaining gardens! I always need some hedge cutting, digging, fence maintenance and weeding, grass cutting etc. as well as sowing and planting at different times of the year. You will have experience with using tools.
    You may be asked to give me a hand with decorating as I might need the inside or outside of the house painting (walls, ceilings and windows). This will depend on the time of the year and would include sanding and filling, sealing and undercoating as well as top coating. If you don't have the experience then a real willingness to learn is crucial!
    If you are good on a Mac then you can help answer some of my tech issues.
    Cooks and food lovers also please apply....sharing ideas of food and recipes is a great way to spend some time.
    I would prefer 4-5 hours per day in the mornings/early afternoon and then you are more than welcome to go and explore and do your own thing. Really happy to negotiate timing flexibility if you have plans.
    I am looking for someone who understands dogs and happy to have a great relationship with my dog - as she loves long varied walks.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am happy to help and support WorkAways who are looking to improve their English language skills.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying in a floating studio on the river or in a double bedroom in my house. You will be responsible for keeping your space clean and tidy. You will be expected to ‘muck in’ and help as a team inside the house with cooking, cleaning and tidying.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are unique towns and villages and islands and waterways and hills. There are pubs to access by boat or on foot. Historic landmarks all around. London 1 hour away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week - I'm flexible on days

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 524416547248