Volunteer and have a meaningful cultural exchange in New Delhi, India

  • India
  • 139 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 03/02/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our work with children continues however we are not involving any volunteers with them directly, as we have realized that they need stability and volunteers coming and going on a continued basis really disturbs their performance at school and their stability of mind. They get attached to some and soon it's time for them to leave and they are left with feelings of abandonment, most of our children and families come from very difficult backgrounds and they struggle to cope as is, hence, we have decided to make use of the volunteers to help us with anything other than teaching. We require help with cloth donation drives, when we have enough to distribute, winter months are busy in that regard, we will need help collecting used clothes from people and also clean and mend them to be usable. Every winter, we have many deaths in Delhi due to people not having enough clothes to wear to survive the extreme cold. This is all documented so you can also look it up on the internet. Our climate is on the extreme end, summers are too hot and winters extremely cold.

    Our focus is also shifting on helping entire families, instead of just children and helping build their lives together, relocate them to better and safer environments if we sense a thread, specially to the girl child, though this takes time but small steps taken in the right direction helps immensely. However, in order to help them live sustainably, we help get jobs, and since they are illiterate and can only do unskilled work, we help them get cleaning cars, cleaning houses, cooks, drivers, painters, etc. as a means to survive.

    Some of the practical help we require now is to source second hand things to furnish the house they will be occupying or future families will be occupying, for which we go around the neighborhood to ask for anything people might want to get rid off or that we find lying around on the roadside or that people have discarded. Our motto is, someone's trash is else's treasure and we have been able to help families by making use of second hand things since the beginning. A lot of the things we get donated or collected need a lot of repair and mending and TLC to be able to use again, could be painting, reinforcing the wood, nailing the corners of chairs, sewing mattress for the colder months, mending the torn clothes to be used again etc.
    After all, we want to give them a dignified living and not just treat them as second class citizens. So, we do need hands on people and who don't mind helping with whatever is required, whatever maybe in your capacity.

    We do want people to be aware that there's a taboo about using old things in India, specially the discarded things so that's why we want to make the things we repair as fresh as possible and change their mind in the process about using old things. It's hard to change mindsets, however, we want to do it one at a time.

    We are also looking at building aeroponic towers for each families from scraps so their nutrition is taken care of, since we want them to be able to replicate the tower so it's important that it's made from scraps that they can have access to too, however, this is something we are just looking to start, we still have a long way to go. We have a model in mind about how it will look and that it shouldn't occupy much space as that's the biggest problem in a big city like Delhi so we welcome anyone willing to brain storm and help us get started on this project.

    We charge a small fee of 5 dollars a day per person (this has been approved by Workaway). This goes towards food and accommodation. We do not earn any money from it.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you choose to help us, you will get exposure to the indian culture, practise basic functional Hindi, get to know locals, taste hygienic street food, develop meaningful relationships, experience Delhi like no other and see the real side to India.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    According to your skills, you can help with repair work, painting, decorating, cooking, we want to learn about aeroponics if someone has knowledge on it, take photographs, repair clothes, house maintenance etc.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Hindi: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have a shared space (depending on how many volunteers will be staying at the moment), there is a living room that you can chill in, we have one bathroom in the apartment, and the host will be staying along in the apartment too.
    There is a charge of 5 dollars per day per person to cover food and accommodation. We do not earn any money from it.
    The apartment is situated next to a 1100 hundred yr old monument and that's pretty cool.
    There's CCTV cameras for safety and main gates get locked at night so it's absolutely safe.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your free time, you can visit lots of places, explore in and around delhi, hang out with the host, explore the endless monuments eg:- red fort, qutub minar, lotus temple, akshardham, humayun tomb, chandni chowk (main bazaar, market place), Jama masjit (near red fort), and lots more.

    Public transport is available at all hours, access to main road is just 2-3 mins walk, you can get taxis, autos, metro and buses.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Kindly let us know if you're working remotely on your holiday so we can help with a good internet connection. There is also a small cafe nearby in case you dont want to work from home, they have wifi and a nice place to hangout.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours day, 4 times a week

  • ...

    Este anfitrión cobra una tarífa

    leer más
    US$5 per day to help host with food costs
Número de referencia de anfitrión: 522423953116

Comentarios (12)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Ayuda en un safari o tour con camellos en Rajasthan
International creative artists, musicians and painters for good vibes, collaborations and jam sessions in Hampi, India