Gardening, Preserving and Land Restoration in the Scenic Columbia River Gorge, Washington, United States



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos



  • Descripción


    Come join us at our country home. We are looking for one or two visitors for 3-10 days at a time to help primarily with land restoration and gardening projects. We’re excited to meet new people and share our life for a short time with you.

    We live on seven acres in the Columbia River Gorge with our dog, Ike. We grow enough fruit and vegetables for us and to share and preserve. We are also restoring habitat, keeping chickens, creating native gardens, hedge-rows, orchards, and building trails. The land has woods, a creek and big views of the Columbia River Gorge. The property is one mile from the small town of Stevenson and 50 minutes from Portland. Part of the land is actively managed and a work in progress; the rest of the land is wild - wooded and hilly.

    If you are interested, please read our whole profile before reaching out - most of your questions will be answered here.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We can offer visitors a chance to learn about self-sufficiency and permaculture. We use these principles to manage our young orchard, berry patch, Hugelkultur vegetable beds and perennial vegetables. Doug is a DIYer, loves to build things and work the land. Gudrun is a seed-saver, sourdough baker and all-around homesteader. The Columbia River Gorge is gosh darn beautiful with endless hiking, windsurfing, swimming and plenty of other recreation opportunities.

    When not gardening we spend our time cooking, baking, preserving, woodworking, building pollinator habitat and working on green building projects. We volunteer with seniors and at the farmers market and have a great community of neighbors in our little watershed.

  • Ayuda


    The work!
    Visitors work five hours a day with two days off after five. We value focused work when you are with us but schedules are flexible. Individuals who are independent and self-sufficient will be the best fit. There is usually only one visitor here at a time and we might not see you all that much outside of work hours and dinner time.

    You can expect a variety of tasks, with a lot of the work focused on land restoration
    - Trail work, grubbing and digging
    - Habitat restoration, brush clearing, planting
    - Baking, canning, cooking, preserving
    - Gardening, seed starting, weeding, watering, pruning
    - Poultry tending
    - Building projects and home maintenance (fence, bed and outbuilding maintenance, greywater system development, greenhouse, chicken tractor, interior painting)
    - A small share of the housework, food preparation & clean up.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We don't speak any other languages but we'd be happy to help you with your English.

  • Alojamiento


    Accommodation is in a Vanagon Westfalia with a pop top and kitchenette (sink, fridge, stove). The bench seat in the picture folds down to a bed. You’ll have your own bathroom inside the house. The van has electricity and heat but staying in it is still like camping. There are camp chairs, a picnic table and a hammock around the property for hanging out. This is a good fit for someone who is happy to spend their time outdoors.
    Please note: April, May & October can be chilly and wet.
    The van is small, if there are two of you (and you are not a couple) one of you will probably want to pitch a tent. We have room for that or to park your own van/RV. Internet is available in the van.

    Breakfast and lunch are on your own with the basics provided (including fresh eggs, veg, fruit and bread), dinner is family style with us on your work days, on your own on your days off. We eat mostly vegetarian and can accommodate vegans. We might have meat once in a while but it’s not the norm.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area. There are endless hikes along the Columbia River. Mt Hood, Mt Adams and Mt. St Helens are each about an hour away. The PCT crosses the Columbia here at the Bridge of the Gods. Mt. Rainier National Park is about three hours away. We have reference books, maps and are happy to provide guidance.

    You'll have the most flexibility if you have a car, but if not we can pick you up in Cascade Locks, OR (get there from Portland via Columbia Area Transit (CAT) bus), we have bikes you can borrow and, depending on our schedule, we can drop you at nearby trailheads for hikes.

    Please ID verify your profile through WA before requesting a visit.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 517611471117

Comentarios (2)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

A peaceful stay in Colorado's Rocky Mountains, USA
Help out at my Florida condo home in St Augustine, USA