Small, holistic, off-grid, eco focused, family farm in Gonubie, South Africa

Country

Sudáfrica

13 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Ours is a small holistic family farm, based on sustainable principals.
    The farm is entirely off-grid, running on solar and rain water.
    We have awesome compost toilets and re-use all our grey-water.
    We hand milk 2.5 cows, have broiler and layer chickens, sheep, meat rabbits, some bees, pigs, fruit and veg.
    We practice restorative grazing and have a live stock guardian puppy.
    We process a lot of our own food (slaughtering chickens and rabbits, making cheese, kombucha, chutney, butter, bla bla bla), cook from scratch, sell/give away extra, home school our 3 awesome kids and run a small carpentry workshop.
    We are 15 min from town or 15 min to the beach and are on the Gonubie river.

    If you don't want to get your hands dirty, if you are afraid of hard work, if you have strong vegan/vegetarian views... then we suggest you consider an alternative option.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad
    Enseñanza

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience rural South Africa from a small holistic farming perspective.
    Learn about restorative agriculture, permiculture, sustainable off-grid living and what it is like to feel completely finished at the end of the day.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Predominantly helping with everyday farming activities; milking, moving electric fences, creating compost, working on the veggies, basic construction, feeding livestock, "processing" rabbits and chickens (if you are keen), fixing, cleaning, cutting, sanding... other things ending in "ïng" As well as chipping in with meals and dishes.
    Possibly a little help with homeschooling the kids (6, 8 & 9 years old... most wonderful-est kids in the world)
    As well as possibly assisting with a weekly program for teenage boys from the neighboring informal settlement or at the new library which we are trying to establish there.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Afrikaans: Principiante
    Xhosa: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Cozy loft room above the workshop.
    Awesome compost toilet, hot shower, kitchenette (in progress). Shared living space but private room.
    Great views
    Shared weekday evening meals with the family
    The remaining meals, self catering with the ingredient provided

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Gonubie River borders our property and has some great pools to swim in
    Kwelera beach is 15min drive away for surfing or fishing.
    No public transport in the area

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 495934375229