Re-vive and co-create our off-grid sustainable place on Mount Etna, Sicily, Italy

Country

Italia

40 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Ciao! We are an open-minded German-Italian family: Tine (mom), Elisa (daughter), Luca (son) and Rufus (dog). We have a big terrain on the mount Etna out of which we want to create an off-grid campground/community space in a self-sufficient manner (not a business activity). Time ago it was a vibrant, colourful space in which my parents brought people together for concerts, workshops, donkey tours around the Etna, tourist activities, creative projects and culinary events. The last 20 year we lived in Germany and now we moved back to work full-time on the project and bring its spirit back to life and fill it with inspiring people.

    The place has a high-spirited energy, 1400 m above sea level with a beautiful view on the ocean, the city of Catania that glitters at night and an incredible view to the craters of the vulcano, that you don't have anywhere else on the island. A romantic mountain hut and bungalows, mediterranian plants, animals (we have a huge diversity of butterflies. all colors!) , black lava stone and good vibes only.

    It is a safe and calm space in nature and for those suffering from the heat: one of the coolest places of Sicily, due to the height and shade of the pine trees. Our aim is to start with the basic facilities and proceed with fun projects like building a tree house, re-making and interior designing the bungalows, a pavillion (for holding cacao ceremonies), compost, chicken house etc.

    We are looking forward to to get inspired from you, your personality, your energy and your ideas!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Sicily if full of treasures, hisotry, culture, people, nature and food. We can share with you good vibes, conviviality and transmission of knowledge.

    We are happy to give you local tips and recommendations which places visit, which beaches to go and what to eat in Sicily. Together with us we will have minimum 2 traditonal Sicilian meals per day. Most of them we cook on fire. We can of course adapt to your diatery requirements, allergies, vegan, vegetarian etc.

    We have lots of space for activities of your choice. In your freetime you can relax or read in the hammocks, play badminton, slackline or go for hike. There are plenty of hiking paths and a beautiful nature reservat close by. (For a multiple day hike there are also huts in which you can stay the night for free).

    Our neighbors and friends are lovely, welcoming nonnes. Elisa and Luca grew up with them (yet we are rather spiritual than religious) and for a unique cultural experience you are welcome to join an open air mess on Sunday's. (Sicily has lots of catholic traditions).

    On our terrain we also have a grotta (little cave) that you can visit - it has potential for fun activities such as reading mystical stories or a little cave rave ;)

    We are located directly on the mount Etna, 10 km away from the cable car station
    (Funivia dell'Etna Sud) that will take you to the craters of the vulcano.

    If you like sports and heights we have two parks: a climbing park and a high rope forest adventure park a few minutes driving away. You can also lend mountain bikes at Refugio Ariel close by.

    Nicolosi, also called "porta del Etna" (the door to the Etna) is a lively, vibrant village at the foot of the volcano (12 minutes away by car) that attracts many tourists (Italian and international) all year round. In summer there is a full program, offering many events, concerts, open air cinema and fashion shows. Many good restaurants, bars and an active nightlife. A must try in Sicily is pistacchio ice cream, cannoli, aranci.. and the list goes on for many more culinary delicacies.

    Sometimes we go to out to eat, dance and enjoy the Sicilian nightlife but also love tranquil nights in nature. In the evenings we love to make a fire, cook together, play games and during the day hiking, gardening, yoga and acroyoga, capoeira, day excursions and of course working on the project. We love music and singing circles and we have some music instruments here for you to play.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for you if you love nature. have an open mind. experience with alternative living and want to help us with our place, starting from the basics.

    We are currently building a toilet and solar shower that connects with our big water tank. Therefore, we are looking for people with building and construction skills. Ideally you have experience with building self-sufficient facilities, are knowledgable with water system, carpentry etc. We have also many trees and plants who have grown wild after some years and ask for care.

    We are looking for people that do not fear getting dirty and have enough physical strength. If you have any other skills, arts, music, yoga teacher etc. this is wonderful. Yet, our first priority is to proceed in the building of the basic facilities , then moving on to more artsy ideas (making decoration, lights, wall art etc.). If you have knowledge, experience and/or skills with painting, permaculture, self-sufficient and sustainable living, we are looking for you. You might want to bring us valuable input and inspiration in building a sustainable trash system, compost or chicken house.

    You are a good fit if are looking for connecting with nature and with us as a family, and soon other workawayers that can grow into a diverse community.
    Also it's great if you enjoy working outdoors, can immerse into activites without watching the clock and enjoy natural living 'back to the roots' .

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We love languages and learning about different cultures. Elisa is passionate about Capoeira and therefore currently immersing into Brazilian culture.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    So far, the place is very simple and minimalistic. Toilets and shower are currenlty in progress and we are working hard to finish it by next week. We have plenty of space in the shade and provide you with an XXL family tend with awning and bedding. You can of course also come with your self-sufficient camper van and ideally you bring your own car. Sleeping in the house, or in one of the three bungalows is also an option (after putting it in better conditions together). This will be some extra project but also some extra fun.

    We have a solar panel that provides electricity. We have limited wifi (70 GB), there is phone- and 4G internet connection (Italian SIM cards are very cheap, you get 100 GB for 10 Euros per month). So far we bring drinking water from an Etna fountain from Nicolosi but we have a big water reservoir that provides water for showering, washing plates etc.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Many cool places are reachable within short driving distance. Public transport from Nicolosi to the Etna exists, but not so frequent. Best is if you come independent with your own car/transportation method.
    We have plenty of space for campervans. We'd love to host digital nomads and we also don't require a minimum stay.

    We are looking forward to meet you and share a good time and laughs with you.
    A presto,

    Tine, Elisa, Luca & Rufus <3

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Any size is welcome, we have plenty of space in the shade.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a male doggo. He is 2 years old and is friendly to all humans and mostly to all other dogs (especially female). Feel free to bring him a friend.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Max 25 hrs / week. In general we don't have a set daily or weekly hours of help but rather we align with the mindset that everyone can help according to his or her abilities, skills and preferences. Like we do, you can make use of your high-energy phases

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 484153383394