Exciting cultural exchange in a semi-rural community in Kisumu, Kenya

Country

Kenia

actualizado  

49 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am Nicholas, 45 years old. Married with two boys. I'm the founder of a project. My education background is social work and project management. I have over 25 years working with international organizations in Kenya, South Sudan and Eritrea with street children, women, youth refugees and internally displaced persons.

    I had this passion of starting an organization in my own village as away of giving back. Therefore, I decided to leave active employment in 2015 and the following years, the Project was born, with focus on talent development through art and economic empowerment of widows.
    So far we have made some little progress by putting up a community centre to conduct art classes and and gave out 23 small animals (sheep/goats) to widows in Pap Onditi community through the donations of our volunteers. Currently, widows are engaged in weekly table banking, basket making and offering small loans to widows involved in small businesses to boost their businesses.
    We are a registered community based organisation based in Pap Onditi, Kisumu City, at the shore of lake Victoria, Kenya.
    We are a community which is open, friendly and loves visitors. We always participate together during cultural functions as a way of solidarity. We are a community which fish is the main dish because of nearest to Lake Victoria but we also have variety of food.
    At our project site we grow variety of vegetables, fruits and crops for home consumption and our volunteers usually love to eat.
    Pap Onditi is a semi village a quite place and conducive environment for work. We have a flat, building for volunteers accommodation with running water and electricity. It's a place to be.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Compañía para ancianos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    They will benefit in many ways, like have new friends, learn new languages, cook and try new foods, they will attend community cultural activities to understand our cultures and way of life.
    As the founder of the organization, I will be available to help and teach them about our cultures, way of life, our languages, food and show them around, visit some of the tourist sites around. I will work together with them most of the time and share meals together all the time with my family to build a family bond and just connect beyond volunteering.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our organization is focused on women empowerment initiative and develop and nurture talents of children through art, sport, painting, music. We will welcome help in the following areas :
    - work with women on table banking, savings and loaning scheme, help develop new ideas on microfinance, conduct training on relevant business needs.
    -together help identify and initiate other microfinance areas to help build their capacity
    -Plan activities together with the centre staff.
    -Teach art (drawing, moulding, singing, dancing, painting... or language classes.
    -Give talks to widows on development related issues.
    -Home visit to children or widows and develop their profiles and situations at their homes.
    -Develop documentaries
    -Help in the garden to plant or weed vegetables and fruits.
    -Help with coming once in a while.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would like to learn different languages.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a flat with rooms where volunteers can share. There is running water and electricity. We also provide bedsheets and mosquito net.

    We have different types of local foods eaten here. This will be another way of cultural exchange by teaching helpers how to prepare and cook. Through this, they will learn and know how to cook for others. At the same time we will be able to learn to cook their foods.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    They can go to local makets, visit different places around, visit even homes of the beneficiaries. Basically they are free to plan their free time and where to go with the knowledge of the in charge and of cause accompanied by a staff.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a big space to accommodate even a big camper van.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes, we accept workdays with pet.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

  • ...

    Este anfitrión cobra una tarífa

    leer más
    USD $5 per day to cover food costs

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 483151674156