Help at our Lodge in a tranquil spot within the jungle in Sigiriya, Sri Lanka


Sri Lanka

176 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hi workawayers !

    How do you fancy waking up to the sound of birds, surrounded by a variety of tree's and vegetation, with a view to the world famous Lion's rock?!

    We are a local family running and living in a tropical Jungle hostel in Sigiriya, just 10 minutes walking distance from the "Lion's Rock". My name is Anushka and I have a wife and two young, beautiful children. We welcome many tourists from all over the world to our home, all year round and I love to meet and connect with people from all over the world.

    The hostel is a relatively new enterprise and is growing and evolving all the time. We currently have 7 private, comfy double rooms with en suites and showers, surrounded by lush gardens. We have an on site restaurant and tree house style dining area where you can enjoy local, authentic Sri Lankan food!

    Due to the location of the hostel we are surrounded by and live amongst wildlife. Monkeys are frequent visitors to the gardens, where they play with each other, swinging amongst the trees, and sometimes raid the garden for edibles from our plants! We also have geckos, and a variety of birds pass through our gardens and sometimes you can spot eagles soaring in the sky! Elephants also pay us a visit as they like to take food from our adjacent paddy fields!

    The layout of the hostel ensures that people can enjoy peace and tranquility within the gardens or their private rooms but also those who wish can connect and socialise with myself and the family as well as fellow travellers and volunteers in one of the many communal areas that have been set up to help bring people together.

    Our hostel/home is always in a state of growth and I would love for you to be a part of it's journey and I a part of your journey! :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I was working as a tour guide in Sri Lanka for 6 years and now I am living my dream to run my own hostel, but I still know a lot of ways to enjoy this country, and I would be glad to share my knowledge with you! Here you will have an amazing time, and I will do all that I can to ensure your stay is as fruitful as possible.

    You will benefit from the ability to stay in a tranquil spot within the jungle where you can be immersed in nature with beautiful scenery and animals all around. We are in a great location to visit many places of cultural significance and natural beauty.

    You will have the opportunity to live with a local family and learn about our way of life and culture. You will get to enjoy home cooked, authentic sri lankan food and will be able to learn how to prepare and cook these dishes if you wish.

    Volunteers will get 2 good meals a day provided free of charge in exchange for their help :)

  • Ayuda


    The nature of the help required is always changing throughout the year as one project finishes and another one starts. As I have another job as well there are a number of things that we need help with in regards to the day to day running of the hostel, such as;
    - General reception duties- checking guests in/out for example
    -Gardening- we grow our own vegetables and herbs and spices
    - General hostel work- maintenance, cleaning etc

    However, these things are all simple and stress free and we will have fun whilst doing what needs to be done! We will endeavour to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and you are guaranteed to have plenty of free time :)

    There will also be a number of on going projects throughout the year and you can message me before hand to find out what is happening at any given time.

    Some future plans/work to be completed:
    - Painting the restaurant tree house
    -Creating a space for the practise and teaching of yoga/meditation
    - Building a new kitchen so we can expand the restaurant!
    - Building a comfortable space for a fire in the evenings
    - Wall murals- space for artists to express!
    - Building wooden cabins and dormitory's

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We offer a big private, double room with ensuite, shower, fan, hot water, wifi, mosquito net, everything you need to feel as comfortable as in your own home! We also have laundry facilities with plenty of space to dry clothes!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Due to my past experience within the tourism industry and my local knowledge of the area, I can help to suggest and arrange visits to a number of beautiful and fascinating places within the area, with tuck tucks and a bus stop just outside of the lodge, plus use of our jeep it is easy to arrange transportation.

    Local sights and things to do include:
    - World Famous Lion's Rock- This has been described as the 8th wonder of the world and has an ancient fortress at the top with stunning views.
    - Swim in the clear, warm local lake. Watch out for snakes!
    - Hiking
    - Visit the ancient city of Polonnaruwa
    - Visit the Buddhist caves and golden temple in Dambulla
    - Relax and read in the garden :)
    - Join us for a bonfire in the jungle or a game of karem!
    - Go on a jeep safari in the local national parks and see wild elephants up close and personal!
    - Ritigala Ruins
    - Ayurvedic Spa Centres
    -Ayurvedic Spice Garden tour
    - See the local wildlife- Elephants, Monkeys etc

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 482795121839