Experience finca life (Spanish farm) living a tranquil existence offgrid in the beautiful countryside in Aragon, Spain.

Country

España

actualizado  

11 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Welcome. We are Russ & Jan a happily married British couple living a tranquil existence offgrid in the beautiful Spanish countryside with our three dogs. Flash, Skye and Roxy. Roxy was a stray Spanish hunting dog who just turned up one day and never left.
    Our 10 acre olive finca whilst feeling entirely detached from the world is located only 3km from the traditional village of Maella in Aragon.
    Our farm is in a bird protection area 350m high with great views, we can even see the Pyrenees on a clear day. You can walk/hike/cycle and explore endlessly here. We are (slowly) adding to the original property to make the home we want for us, our animals and visiting friends/family to enjoy. Animals are a big part of life here, you would need have an affinity with them as we do.
    We think it's great that young people are getting off their backsides and exploring the world rather than sitting in a virtual one. It can be a daunting prospect as well, so it's important to us that you feel welcome, happy and rewarded at our home. My wife will treat you better than me and the dogs get treated better than everyone lol.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda con animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We embrace a life surrounded by and at one with nature. No fuss, stress or agenda. It's a great environment to be in.
    Above all, it should be a rewarding experience for both us and you.
    It's great learning to do things differently/thinking outside of the box, building with natural materials is very satisfying, tempered with patience and learning different techniques. Solar was especially important to learn about, there are so many little things really that go into making life easier and more enjoyable throughout the changing year.
    Being here you can develope an awareness, understanding and knowledge of how to get around and solve many things that confront you.
    We eat meat but would like to improve our cooking skills with vegan food, we need to improve our Spanish and alternatively should you be looking to improve your English then we can help there.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Due to son moving back to England an opportunity presents itself for a workaway/helping hand.
    Various building projects ahead are the main priority.
    Knocking down a porch and building a new room.
    Replacing the current roof with authentic looking tiles (approx 100m2).
    Septic system/soakaway already started, requires finishing.
    Turning a bedroom into a bathroom.
    Building a bespoke kitchen.
    Tiling floors.
    Construct a water balsa.
    Setting aside some of the land to an allotment, or to give it a trendy new term permaculture!
    Our aim is to make the place pretty and blend in with the natural landscape as best we can.
    General farm upkeep, landscaping numerous areas.
    Track repairs.
    Tier wall repairs.
    The priority of work changes month to month...I use the word priority loosely as there is always something to do but sometimes it's just better enjoy the day, there is always tomorrow lol.
    You would mainly be working with me so being reasonably fluent in english is an advantage, maybe have some DIY skills, be competent with work/power tools. More importantly have enthusiasm and an urge to learn and pride in what you do.
    The various tasks will require a young, fit male with a smile, good work ethic, a sense of humour and pleasant disposition.
    25hrs work per week, flexibility on daily hours dependant on work/weather.
    It's not all work, important to have a laugh, beer and let your hair down occasionally.
    Finca life is simple/outdoor and all the better for it. We are completely offgrid and use gas/solar/generator for what we need. To make life a little easier we have a full size washing machine and fridge freezer which is essential in the hotter periods.
    We only have 3 rules. No drugs/politics/religion.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English. Limited Spanish.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Your accommodation will be a newly built natural stone building/room independent from the main house (10m away). This will be your own private/secure space for which you will take responsibility of keeping clean and tidy Interior floor space is approx 7.5m2 so reasonable room size. An outdoor enclosed hot shower is a few metres away.
    Meals are flexible, generally breakfast /lunch/dinner, hot or cold depending on time of year. You can choose to eat meals with us in or outside the main house or at your leisure elsewhere (if) you wish to take an excursion then we will provide a packed meal/drink for you.
    You won't go hungry here.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Maella is 3km from us. A 10 minute drive/cycle or 30 minute walk.
    Our village provides a number of resturantes/bar's/cafe's/small supermarkets and a cinema.
    Various fiestas take place throughout the year, August is an especially great time for them.
    The village pool is handily placed at the end of our track 2.5km away. Open June-Sept.
    Maella has good public transport links by road.
    Caspe is 25km away and provides the nearest rail link.
    Alcaniz is 50km away, good road/rail links. Motorland is at Alcaniz, I like to go watch motorsports there from time to time, you are welcome to join me when I visit.
    Reus airport 110km/80mins away.
    Zaragoza airport 140km/90mins away.
    Barcelona airport 190km/3hrs away.
    Bus/rail links can get you from these airports to either Maella/Caspe/Alcaniz.
    The coast is about 70 minutes drive.
    On the finca itself I have a multigym, free weights, mountain bike, comercial cross trainer and ping pong table, snorkling equipment, dart board, board games for fun/recreation. I have tennis equipment as well and there is a court at a village further out. TV/DVD and 100+ films. Some large artist pads that my daughter left as well here if you like to draw.
    If you like to hike, the area here is great but for those who wish to challenge themselves a little more the Terra Alta mountain range runs along between us and the coast.
    Very good mobile signal on the farm, should you need it you may have some internet access via my phone's hotspot, otherwise various wifi areas exist in the village.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

River (1km away) walks with the dogs
Roxy, Flash & Skye.
Many many sunsets like this.
Número de referencia de anfitrión: 479851284276