Vegan, animal loving couple welcome help with gardens and house projects in Burton, UK


Gran Bretaña

431 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    My husband and I have recently moved to a beautiful village called Burton, Wirral. The area is very nice and rural yet is in easy reach of all amenities. We are in easy reach of Liverpool and Chester by train and bus, when we are available we can give you a lift to the station in our car otherwise you could get a taxi. A previous guest purchased a bike at the local recycling center to travel around, it was very low cost and in good condition so you may like to do that also.

    We are currently coming to the end of a major renovation on our house and have a large garden that we are working to improve.

    We have a lovely dog called Lua, our other dog Woody recently died and we miss him very much.

    My husband works full time and I am not working at present due to some ill health in the past couple of years. I have been a registered nurse for 20 plus years and also I am qualified in Building Surveying with an additional masters degree in historic building conservation.
    We try to lead a healthy lifestyle, have a vegan diet and take regular exercise. I am particularly interested in yoga and attend a nice health club to swim, use the gym and do yoga, you are very welcome to come with me. (Free of charge)

    We are animal lovers and feel very saddened about the barbaric treatment that our fellow animals are put through just to give us food or just for the sheer enjoyment of sick humans (bull fighting and fox hunting for example). We strive to act compassionately towards all living beings and this effects every aspect of our lives, for example in the food and products we buy.

    We have a calm relaxed home and are looking for pleasant people with a common sense attitude that are not afraid of a bit of hard work to stay with us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Liverpool is an excellent cultural centre with fantastic museums, art galleries and architecture. We live in a very vibrant area with lots going on. As well as Liverpool, the Roman city of Chester is very nearby and a great place to visit and both cities are great for shopping.
    Wales is also very close by and easy to get to. We have lived in the area all of our lives and will be able to recommend places that will suit your interests.

    I am a member of a very nice health club where I swim, do weights and several yoga session every week. You would be very welcome to accompany me if you like that kind of thing.
    (No charge to you for access to the health club for one guest that accompanies me)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I require some general help in my garden, this could be digging, weeding, planting new plants, painting the shed and fences etc. Basically just keeping the place nice . I also am starting to plan a new vegetable garden which will need some work. You must come with suitable shoes and clothes for the job being done as we use spades and forks in the garden, people without suitable shoes can't be allowed to do the work in the garden for health and safety reasons.

    We also need someone that has woodwork skills to assist us building a large log store.

    We are happy to negotiate the times that you assist us with our projects, for example it may be possible for you to do more some days and have more full days off. The maximum hours are 25 per week (workaway rules), this is about 3.5 hrs per night stayed. We expect the hours to be kept up to date and
    not done in arrears. In practice this means that you will help 7 hours on the day after you arrive as it is unlikely you will help out on the day you arrive. Thereafter you will help at least 3.5 hours per day or more to accrue more time off.
    We will also keep a record of your workaway hours so that the maximum time is not exceeded and everything is fair and equitable between us. We can draw up a weekly timetable for you if that helps you make plans. Some of the tasks will be done together with us or may be done alone. Don't worry we would give you support and guidance.

    Gardening is weather dependant so a flexible approach is required as we may have to change our plans at short notice to work inside for example out of rain or change the day.

    People with art skills may be able to help by painting and decorating our sheds.

    Only true animal lovers welcome in our home, we have had some people in the past that said they love animals only to support bull fighting for example.

    Seeing passport ID will be required prior to agreeing that guests can stay with us, this is for our mutual security.

    We also require you to provide contact details for your next of kin in case of emergency.

    Please also inform us of any allergies or health issues you have (Physical or Mental) so that we can ensure your safety and make any reasonable adjustments that we can to assist you. We trust that you will be honest about this so we have no surprises when you are here.

    NO smokers please, we really don't like the smell that will stay on you and your clothes in our home even if you smoke outside. So we really mean NO SMOKERS. NO illicit drug users. If you lie about this we will ask you to leave.

    We also will not allow you into our home if you are under the influence of alcohol.

    We do not allow any meat, fish or dairy products into our home as we are vegan.

    We view the first five days as a trial period so that we can see if we all get on well and things are going smoothly. This is normally a formality but unfortunately a recent visitor was not honest with us prior to arrival and that mutual trust that must exist was broken, hence we had to ask the person to leave after one week.


    ARTISTS to paint murals on sheds.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    Guests will normally have a choice of accommodation. They can have use of a small but very nice caravan or stay in a room in our house. Guests that stay in our house will be expected to go out sightseeing on their days off so that I can go out to do various things as I don't provide guests with a key to our home for security reasons and the safety of our dogs.
    The caravan has a fixed double bed and the sitting area also makes into a double bed. It can accommodate two adults easily. It has full electric, TV and DVD, heating, mini kitchen and sitting area with dining table etc. It also has a camping style toilet and small wash basin and mirror. It has storage compartments and a wardrobe for your clothes.... People using the caravan can use our bathroom in the house.

    Breakfast with be self service and evening meal and lunch on some days depending on your daily schedule. (All Vegan food) If you are out all day sight seeing then we would expect that you would get your lunch wherever you are at the time, the same applies for Dinner in the evening if you are out and not present when we eat.

    Evening meal will usually be around 18.30 hrs as we don't like to eat too late at night. We usually will not keep food aside for you to eat later as we like to relax and not have to use the kitchen later which is part of our sitting area.
    We like food types from all over the world and would love our guests to prepare dinner occasionally so that we can sample some of their local dishes.

    We expect guests to keep their accomodation clean and tidy during their stay and clean their rooms to a good standard at the end of their stay.

    We also expect that if a guest uses our kitchen, they will clean it to a good standard afterwards. This also applies to the use of our bathroom and any other areas.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in a great area for culture, sports and travel. Near to Liverpool and Chester with a train station only 10 minutes cycle ride away. There is also a bus service at the end of the road, the bus stop is about 10 minutes walk.
    The Wirral is a nice place with some lovely walks near to our home. We live a short walk from the Burton Marsh Bird Reserve.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yes, I have a large drive that can be used. I can also give you electric etc

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours per week, days negotiable. Record Kept.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 473711435419