Help with our daughter with special needs in West Cork, Ireland.

Country

Irlanda

235 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    15  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/09/2021

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *May June 2020

    Hi workawayer, I hope you're having a good time on your travels. We are looking for a female workaway please, someone pretty good at speaking / understanding English is a must as, and if you have experience with special needs - even better, but not essential.

    We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 girls. Our girls will be 14 and 16 this summer. We are looking for someone to help with our younger daughter who has Down syndrome and loves to be active. So if you have empathy and a natural understanding of kids who walk a different path, this may be the family for you.

    The duties would be mostly focused with Ellen, painting, pretend games, basketball, trampoline, going to the playground, library etc and helping out at mealtime. If we get any kind of good summer the beach is always fun. As with all children, enthusiasm and patience are the basic requirements, but with Ellen they are even more important.
    We have a very friendly dog (she thinks she is human!) and a cat.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    While you are with us, you will learn English, and the workaway favorite baking "scones". Almost every workaway that has come here has taken this recipe with them!! You will learn to understand what is a life with down syndrome and autism and how patience, boundaries and understanding can impact profoundly. She is our "guru" there isn't a day that passes that we haven't learnt something. There is no denying that at times behaviour can be challenging, but we do our best ourselves, and hope to help you with tools that can dissolve any issues. Ellen is in a way a typical 14yr old, asserting independence but also needing support on her daily journey.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking to host females ideally between 20 & 30yrs, someone who is sociable and friendly for the summer months. We would like you to be part of our family for the time you are here and will show you around the area. Clonakilty is a wonderful town and there are beautiful beaches and walks. It is also a town which welcomes different cultures, there are many other volunteers and workawayers here.
    It is important to us that you enjoy being part of the family and get involved with enthusiasm, but also that you meet with others and have a social network if that is important to you. Using your own initiative for playtime with our daughter, and being fun and energetic is very important, the trampoline is used so much in our house, jumping and spending time on this and other outdoor activities is going to be a big part of your time here!
    So if you feel drawn to having time with us this summer, please send us an email.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Own bedroom, and a shared bathroom. A great bicycle to travel in the local area

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have 1 cat and a very friendly dog.. We live approx 10 minutes drive from Clonakilty (40 minutes walk) and we have a bike that you can use. There are many beaches in the area that are so beautiful, surfing is done on one of the main beaches. There is a great social network in the town and it's very multicultural here. There are many people doing workaway, woofing and au-pairing with a regular weekly meetings in a wonderful pub with traditional music. The nearest city is Cork, which is about an hour and there is a bus which services this route. We'll do our best to support any travelling you may want to do while you stay with us.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day 5 days a week













Número de referencia de anfitrión: 468388134451