Help out on our self-built homestead in Chirpan, Bulgaria



2 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Descripción


    Hi! We are a young couple living in central Bulgaria with our dog Keith. My name’s Sian, im 24 and my boyfriend Luke who’s 28. We live in a rural village and are currently building our own house with straw bales. We moved to Bulgaria just over a year ago and in that time we have bought a plot of land and built our own homestead with minimal help. The structural part of the house is complete and now we are moving on to smaller projects in the house and around the garden.

    Both Luke and I are qualified skydiving instructors who have taken a break due to Covid. During lockdown we were both unable to work so we decided to take on a massive new project in an effort to learn much more about the environment and live a sustainable life. Our house is semi off grid with solar panels and a compost toilet.

    The village we live in is very small but we have a local shop/bar which stays open late. We get our drinking water from a local spring 5 minutes down the road. We are in the middle of a small mountain range. There are some beautiful walks and a small lake close by. We're 25 minutes from the nearest town & 45 minutes from the closest city. There are no bus connections so if you have a vehicle to move about that would be ideal!

    We love the idea of living green and mostly eat vegetarian food. In the future, we hope for our place to be totally off grid and self-sufficient. We are in the process of collecting rain water over winter and hope to be able to filter it next year for home use, Luke has developed a new passion for fine wood work and is handcrafting the majority of the furniture in the house. I (Sian) work part time as an online English teacher and manage everything else besides the build.

    Please note, we like kids but do NOT want to accommodate them. The building site is unsafe at times and not a good environment for a child to be around.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We're a British couple who have decided to settle in Bulgaria as we both really enjoy the laid back lifestyle and are passionate about the environment and very keen to learn different ways of living a greener life. We've both lived in multiple different countries and enjoy learning about other cultures. We are young for the type of project we have taken on with minimal experience but that's all part of the fun!

    About Sian:
    I'm very outgoing and love meeting new people. Im an online teacher and mostly work with children. I really like learning about different cultures especially if it involves food! I've lived in 8 countries so far and have a big passion for travel. Im extremely organised & motivated and would love to share a part of our life here with other likeminded people.

    About Luke:
    Luke's more reserved but has a big passion for music and a good sense of humour. He's a 'Jack of all trades' and can turn his hand to almost anything. His newest passion is carpentry and he mainly works building the furniture for the house.

  • Ayuda


    Projects in the garden include:
    - Taking an old dog pen down
    - Laying sand under the house to keep the weed barrier down
    - Moving/sorting large stones into one pile
    - Clearing trees
    - Making fires to get rid of old branches
    - Digging a trench around the back of the house for excess rain water
    - Clearing weeds growing along the roadside
    - Clearing part of the garden ready for our grey water drainage system to be installed
    - Painting/treating timber

    Projects in the house include:
    - Cleaning around window/door frames taking off old sellotape

    There are more internal jobs but that depends on what work is happening in the house during your stay. Majority of the work is outside helping to clear/organise the garden.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Bulgarian: Principiante
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Currently our accommodation is quite basic. You have the choice of:
    1. Camping in the garden
    - This is one option but bear in mind winter is quickly approaching and Bulgarian winters are not warm!

    2. Bring your motorhome/caravan/van
    - You can plug in to charge during the day and use your battery at night.

    Please be aware:
    - We use a compost toilet. This is a bucket in the house. Saw dust/wood shavings are used for covering. Only solids go in the compost toilet currently. Liquids you use the caravan toilet.
    - We have 2 solar panels & 2 batteries so we don't have an infinite amount of electricity at night time.

    This can be communal or not depending on your preference. I will provide 2 full meals a day (breakfast/dinner). We rarely eat lunch as we're busy working or we have a late breakfast.

    We eat vegetarian food so breakfast usually consists of: bread/ryvita with cheese, fruit & vegetables and juice.
    Dinner would range from loaded cheesy nachos, homemade pizza, veggie wraps, asian style rice & veg & more!

    If you like cooking you are also more than welcome to cook in our tiny caravan!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During your time off there are a variety of things to do/see
    - horse riding (local village 10 minutes drive away)
    - hiking in the hills
    - visit local lake (however we have never swam in it and wouldn't recommend it. Lovely to walk around with the dog!)
    - visiting the local bar seeing the cowman with the horse leading the cows home
    - local vineyards about 30-40 minutes away.
    - hotel bar/restaurant 15 minutes away

    A village 25 minutes away is a famous spa place with thermal baths/spas and many hotels which are cheap to visit for the day.

    Further away in the closest town there are lots of restaurants/bars/shops. They sometimes have live music playing at different venues.

    At the closest city there are many typical city things to do incl. shopping, restaurants, adventures and local tours.

    We moved to Bulgaria during middle of the pandemic last year so we have not had that much opportunity to visit many different places as they have been closed. Most things are open again now but of course restrictions can change last minute. We occasionally eat in the local town but we mostly stay at home. I'm often working and Luke always has another project to finish off!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We usally have good wifi connection. Occasinally it is not great if there has been a storm/power cut or if i have been working very long hours!

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    It would be ideal for us if you have your own vehicle as our accommodation arrangements at the moment are quite basic. So it would be great for you to have more privacy! We only have solar panels for energy so you could hook up during the day and use your batteries in the evening. We have loads of space in the garden for you to park.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    If you have a dog no problem, more than welcome! As long as they are well behaved. But be aware we have no fence so if they are not well trained you might be busy chasing them! Our dog is very laid back, great with all animals. Only gets grumpy if he is being severely hassled!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. This may change depending on the day/whats needed

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 465481416911