Help with our home renovation project in sunny Gisborne, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

71 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We're Joy, Muz and Scruffy and we live in sunny Gisborne on the East coast of Aotearoa. We moved here from Wellington for the sun, surf and lifestyle. We bought a house that we are renovating and this would be the main reason we are seeking help on Workaway. As we both work full time we are slowly getting things done. With your help however, we might be able to get through our list a little quicker! I have been a workawayer/wwoofer myself on my travels around the world and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Now it is our turn to host and teach and share.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Well if you're coming all the way to the south pacific we can show you what life is like to live in an isolated part of the world in an isolated part of the country!
    Gisborne or Gizzy -as it is affectionately known- is an almost even mix of Pakeha and Maori and this gives it quite a different feel to other parts of the country. Maori culture is strong here, with kapa haka (performing arts) and the visual Maori arts such as raranga (weaving) and whakairo (carving) all easily accessible.
    I am an Artist myself who has studied the art of raranga and I also have a fine arts degree where I majored in sculpture. I currently work at a hardware store for now but I could possibly teach you some basic weaving at some point. I also have a sculpture project that I would like to get finished at some stage but house stuff is the priority for now.
    Muz is quite an able builder although not an official one. He's really practical and gets jobs done. I'm the artistic director and he'd be the technical so we're quite a good team really.
    We're both into surfing, which Gizzy is well known for so if you want to learn the basics there we can help out for sure. Or maybe you'll be able to teach us how to surf better! We're open to always exchanging knowledge about anything and everything as we all learn from one another.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need practical people who are handy with their hands and want to give a little of their love and goodness to our little whare (house) ! So general construction, renovation and restoration type activities as well as round the house stuff. Garden bed prep, chopping wood, stripping wallpaper, sanding, painting, weeding, cooking, cleaning etc. All fairly basic stuff really.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Maori: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You'll have your own room. We also have a caravan option if you'd like to have your own little space separate of the house. We're only able to take 2 at this stage if you're a couple who'd be sharing the bed and room.
    As far as food goes, we're happy to provide all basic meals but would appreciate a hand with the cooking and cleaning obviously. We eat a mixture of meat and vegetarian meals. If you have dietary requirements needing specialised food outside of this you'll have to fend for yourself. You'll also need to buy your own alcohol if you like to drink more than a glass or 2 and your own snacks, i.e bags of potato chips, chocolate etc.

    Some additional notes due to recent experiences we've had. We are not interested in hosting you if you plan to do paid work and squeeze in the workaway stuff around it. You should also tell us if you have any major injuries or chronic pain that will affect what you are able to help us with. We are also not looking to pay people if they want to make it a 40 hour week instead of 25. Its a food and board exchange for 4-5 hours of your day. So in other words be honest from the start or we will ask you to leave. In my own experiences as a workawayer I would never turn up and then get the host to compromise around my dishonesty. This is not what workaway is about.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Gizzy has beautiful beaches with great surfing spots. There's some local walks with historical information. We have bikes available to use if we're not on them ourselves but you'll have to bring your own surfboard or hire one from a shop. We'd like to clarify that we're happy to hang out and show you around etc but not all of the time as we need our time too.
    We're pretty easy to get along with and enjoy having people come and stay. All we ask is that you be considerate to sharing our house with us. That's what we'd ask of anyone, including our family!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of lawn space, front and back for tents, Van's, campervan etc.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a little dog who might be ok with another furry friend as long as the furry friend let's her be numero uno!😂

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 463699344747