Come and help out our little family living in the peaceful village of Portobello on the Otago Peninsula, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

actualizado  

80 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/11/2020

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a busy little family living in the peaceful village of Portobello on the Otago Peninsula. It’s about a 25 minute drive from central Dunedin, just a few minutes from sea lions basking on one of the most beautiful wild beaches, and there’s an albatross colony up the road. Penguins live around here too. This is also one of the better places in NZ for seeing the Aurora.

    We are American and Kiwi with two young children and a young poodle, so it's chaos. We have a large and untamed garden that we're slowly trying to get under control, and that's where we need your help. Our jobs are outside, so garden experience and generally working with your hands is a bonus but not essential. If you have any basic building/maintenance or forestry skills, we have plenty of jobs for you too.

    We are interested in the good life, friends, family, food, music, crafts - there are guitars and a piano here that you are welcome to play. A mandolin too. We would love to meet anyone with mandolin skills. We love knitting and woodworking and lots of other creative pursuits that we never have enough time for, but we'd love to chat about them!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have a wealth of local knowledge about all the best spots to explore, and can point you in the right direction to see the unique things Otago Peninsula has to offer. We love chatting about New Zealand culture and hearing about your journeys. We will invite you into our home to share our family life. Our lives revolve around food, family, music, making, friends and community.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our home life with kids and dog is always barely contained chaos, so you must be comfortable sharing space with small people and small dog, who will all be very interested in you.

    In exchange for 4 hours in the garden we can provide your own private room and food during your stay.

    Garden jobs include things like weeding, mulching, planting, wood chopping/stacking, more weeding, path building, clearing of larger shrubs/trees etc.

    Vegetarians, diversity, LGBT couples, all welcome in our home. We’re open to negotiating hours, such as working more in the weekends to have weekdays off or whatever arrangement suits you and your plans.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own room within our family house, sharing the bathroom with our family of 4. All food provided, we will cook for you. Unless you want to cook, which we would be totally fine with!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is very limited bus service out here, you really need your own vehicle to explore everything the Otago Peninsula has to offer, which is wild beaches, sea lions, penguins, albatross, amazing walks, check out the Portobello Inc website for more info about local activities.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours/day, 2 days off

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 454178885133