Help us move towards self sufficiency in Val-d'Or, Canada

Country

Canadá

11 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    15/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Warm hello, Workawayers!
    We are a young couple living in the beautiful northern Quebec and our head is full of beautiful and amazing projects!! My name is Jolyane, I'm 30 and I work as a nurse and I also own a zero waste grocery. He is Michel, 33 years old, working in landscaping, but for this summer he will work only in our projects! We have been living here for 5 years in the beautiful nature of Abitibi. We live in a small house in the boreal forest, just by a big lake called Lac Malartic. We aim toward self sufficiency with our big gardens, our chickens, our bees, by doing wild picking and much more. For the last 2 years, we didn't have to buy once any vegetable or fruit at the supermarket! We can now grow all the fresh food we need for the whole year. The summer last for only 4 months here, so this means a lot of transformation and conservation! We also do natural building, we are renovating our house using used ceramic and making artistic design! We have a big greenhouse that we built with natural materials, where we grow a lot of plants, some exotics!
    We newly bought a land near our house, where we want to expand our gardens in the goal to sell our organic vegetables in the town market. We do gardening using the permaculture methods, we have the project of planting an orchard of mainly apples, pears and plums, and small fruits like rasberries, strawberries and some less known like haskap berry and saskatoon berry.
    We have a cat and a baby dog in the house :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in Northern Quebec where the culture is very strong, french speaking people here are very much into hunting and fishing, there is a lot of nature here and people love to enjoy it!! You will learn all the culture here, a simple and more natural lifestyle. Eating fresh, local and organic vegetables, enjoying the beautiful view on the lake, going for canoe at the sunset, taking walks in nature and learning about plants and wild picking. Our lifestyle is connected with nature and you can find yourself changed by this experience! Making bonefire, stargazing at night, swimming in the lake and camping on the beach are things you can do everyday!
    You can also taste the delicious food we use to prepare here, with our fresh vegetables!!
    You will learn how to garden, how to take care of fruit trees, how to transform your harvest (drying, canning)
    Also learn about beekeeping and taste our delicious honey!!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The help we need is mainly physical but simple. Mostly make a wild field ready for a garden and an orchard, using manual tools. There will be a lot of weeding, shoveling, cutting wood, watering, planting and all sort of fun activities like this!! We also need help for making a ceramic mosaic on our house, using pieces of recycled and colorful ceramic. This is a lot of fun, we welcome any creative soul!! In the beginning of the summer, it is the planting time of our gardens at home, taking care of plants in our greenhouse, watering our fruit trees and much more!
    Taking care of the chickens is a daily task and even more fun, collecting the eggs! We have a baby dog that we are training to protect the chickens against all the wild animals.
    There is also all king of small constructions to do at the field (tool shead, watering installations, ect)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We can teach you french, we are interested in practicing our english and spanish!!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have place for 2 persons inside the house and we also have tents, mattress and all for campers! There is plenty of space outside to camp and you can also camp on the land for a total nature experience!!
    Our house is small but cozy, it is a very welcoming place :) The place for workawayers is either on the couch/bed in a room (connected to the kitchen, closing with curtains for intimity) Or we can inflate a large inflatable bed in the living room, there is large windows with a beautiful view outside! Some doors close there :)
    There is a very big window south oriented with the view on the lake.
    We use composting toilets, we have one outside and one inside, is it very simple to use and the goal is to make compost that we can use for our fruit trees. No waste here!!

    They will be 3 meals a day. As we are vegeterian we do not cook with meat but feel free to buy some and cook it. Apart for the stuff we can't make (flour,rice,nuts etc) we use pretty much only what we grow so the food is seasonal but pretty diverse and delicious.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a lot to do in your time off here!! Right at our house, you can enjoy the lake, chill on the beach, go for canoe or sailing on the lake, explore the islands nearby, fishing ect!
    The forest is right here, you can go for walks around, observe animals and birds, do wild picking if you like it!
    We live 10 minutes by car from the nearby village called Vassan, where there is a small grocery shop, a small restaurant, a church and a school. The biggest town is 30 minutes from here, we go there many times a week for work so we can bring you anytime! This town is called Val-d'Or, the population is 40 000 and it's mainly a mining town (you can go under the ground to visit a mine!!) but we have a microbrewery, a lot of restaurants and bars, a tower where you have a beautiful lookout of the city and more!!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a good internet connection at home!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have chickens, your animals have to be friendly with them :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 451253568523