1 / 5

Come and learn about alternative building techniques and living off-grid near Durango, Colorado, USA



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    Paula and Joe have been building an off-grid homestead on 40 acres in Southwest Colorado for over 20 years. Up til now we have done all the work developing our homestead by ourselves, but now we need some help and want to pass on some of what we have learned over the years. We are only looking for couples at this time to help with some projects planned to make our homestead more sustainable.
    Living in a high desert climate at 6,800 ft. we are in the foothills of the San Juan Mountain Range. Our view to the north are the many peaks of that range. Wolf Creek Pass is to our east, with Purgatory Ski slopes to our north. To the west are the canyon lands of Utah.
    Mesa Verde is an hour drive and several other National Parks are within a 2 or 3-hour drive. These include Chaco Ruins and Aztec Ruins, of the Pueblo (Anasazi) culture. Arches NP and Canyonlands NP are located just west of Moab, Utah. Biking and river rafting or kayaking are also available nearby.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers can learn about gardening, solar electric systems, building skills, managing an off grid homestead and speaking American English, if that is not their native language. If they have an interest in ancient cultures, this is the place to be. Paula and I have worked at several of the nearby National Parks and will be happy to share what we know about them. Additionally, they can learn about a unique area of the Rocky Mountains and the Four Corners region of the US. A place where four states come together. But also a region where several cultures come together. Anglo, Latino, Navajo, Ute, several Pueblo tribes such as Hopi and Acoma and others.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We have several projects planned for (2024) and there is always general maintenance work needed.
    The main project will be construction of a hybrid earth ship/ greenhouse. We will also be building a garage using small diameter logs cut on our land. Volunteers can learn alternative building techniques as well as gain some experience in living off grid. There will be oportunities to learn what living on a rural homestead requires to make a go of it. Brush clearing and tree cutting will be part of those projects. I will also be setting up a small photovoltaic system for one of our outbuildings. As Spring approaches the gardens will require some help as well. Having a working knowledge of using hand tools is a plus but most important is a willingness to work hard and learn as we go.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I can help with learning English. I would like to improve my Spanish. Paula has limited Spanish and German, but would like to learn more.

  • Alojamiento


    We have a small furnished tiny (10x12) cabin suitable for a couple. Couples with children may be welcomed but generally there are a lot of hazards around our house that make it dangerous for children. The cabin has a loft bedroom, bathroom with shower and cooking facilities. Travelers will cook their own meals. We will help with groceries. No cigarette smoking in the house please. Internet is available using cell service. We have a wood fired sauna for your use.
    We are only accepting couples at this time. Our place is somewhat isolated and the nearest town is 10+ miles away, so too far to walk but within biking distance. Durango is about 20 miles away and offers numerous restaurants and stores. Folks coming here should like quiet and peaceful living. The nearest large city is Albuquerque, New Mexico, about a 3-4 hour drive.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are so many interesting things to see and do in this area, but most require a vehicle. Our place is somewhat isolated and the nearest town is 10+ miles away, so too far to walk but within biking distance. Durango is about 20 miles away and offers numerous restaurants and stores. Folks coming here should like quiet and peaceful living. There is some limited bus service to the nearby towns. Having your own transport would be preferable, but not absolutely necessary. We can provide transportation for at least one shopping trip each week and possible longer trips on the weekends. We are not big party people, but like to enjoy life. We like camping and hiking in the nearby mountains and canyons. We are omnivores, drink alcohol moderately, and are 420 friendly. No heavy drinkers or hard drug users please. We have a dog, looking for another and your dog would be welcome. Cats don't do well here for some reason.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We don't have wifi at our home but use cell phone mobile data for online activities.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have room for small to medium RVs

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We welcome well behaved friendly dogs. Cats don't seem to do well here.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 449516352211

Comentarios (2)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.5)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help with planting a food forest and various projects in Olympia, USA
Help me with some DIY projects in a beautiful pre-civil war farmhouse in a quiet zone WV, USA