Fjords, glaciers and horses: help on a little family farm in western Norway

Country

Noruega

107 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! We are a little family with a little farm Ugla in a beautiful valley Sogndalsdalen, close to the fjord(s) - magnificient Sognefjorden, with all its sidearms, and glacier(s) - Jostedalsbreen, likewise, with all its sidearms. If you in addition to nature like skiing, it might be interesting to know that Sogndalsdalen is known (at least in Norway) for its great skiing conditions during winter. Our farm is approx. 5 km from the village Sogndalsfjøra, which has direct bus (and plane!) connections to Oslo and Bergen (+ direct boat from/to Bergen).

    As a little farm, we have a little bit of everything: a few ponnies (one Shetland and three Nordlandshest), a few sheep (three of breed Old Norwegian Sheep), a few rabbits (two females and a splendid Silver male), a few chicken (actually, more than ten now), a few cats (two, black and grey) and a few... no, sorry, one dog (an Irish Wolfhound - he is just one, but as big as a few small dogs together). Our animals are very friendly and tame creatures that are easy (and fun) to get along with - you will learn all names when you come :) We have also a little garden where we grow fruits and vegetables for own use - and a larger market garden where we grow vegetables for sale. During summer we prepare hay ("hesjing"), and collect animal forage from the trees ("styving") in traditional Norwegian ways. We are also currently restoring a pasture overgrown by spruce trees to be once again used for animal grazing.

    We need help (described below) with the animals and grass trimming/snow cleaning in period(s) when we are away - but we would like that you stay with us a couple of days before we leave, so that we can show you around (and not the least get to know you!).
    During summer, you are most welcome to help us with making hay and "styving" (we will explain, nothing complicated), and with restoration of the pasture (cutting trees and bushes, fixing fences, etc.).

    UPDATE SUMMER 2021: Apart from "ordinary" help with haymaking, we are also seeking volunteers for fence reparation/building on a mountain pasture, with accomodation in a mountain cabin - see below for details.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have possibility to see a lot of beautiful and unique nature around Sogndal: fjords (including Nærøyfjorden, UNESCO World Heritage Site) and glaciers (including Bøyabreen and Supphellebreen, glacier arms in nearby Fjærland). You will meet interesting old breeds of animals - Nordlandshest (ponnies), Old Norwegian Sheep, Irish Wolfhound - which are not very common anymore. You will experience a life on a little, simple farm on the countryside, something quite different from modern, industrial agriculture. You will meet a multilingual family of a farmer and an ecologist that will be glad to talk with you, and share their thoughts and experiences about life as foreigners in Norway, ecological and traditional agriculture, ecological restoration, etc. During summer, you will have possibility to experience ancient forage harvesting technique of "styving" and making of own hay without using large mechanisms - during winter, we can at least talk about it :)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    For summer: We need people that like manual work. Prior experience not necessarily needed, but good physical condition is required. For haymaking, we use traditional Norwegian method of drying hay on "hesjer" (racks). So we need help with setting up the racks: carrying the poles (approx. 1.5-2 m long, 5 -10 cm thick) & wire, making holes, setting up racks; raking & carrying & hanging grass on the racks; carrying dried hay to the barn; disassembling of the racks, etc.

    For winter: We need a person that likes (to work with) animals, and has at least some prior experience. Help required includes: cleaning the stable, rabbit and chicken houses, and cat toilet (once a day), walking the dog (three times a day), and feeding and providing water for all animals (horses, sheep, rabbits, chicken, cats and dog; twice a day). It is also nice if you can water the plants in the house. There is usually a lot of snow during the winter, so some snow cleaning can be expected as well.

    SPECIAL FOR SUMMER 2021: We need volunteers to build/repair fence around a mountain pasture. There are parts of fence that need to be repaired (set up fallen poles, nail the netting on, etc.), some parts are missing and have to be built anew. It is approx. 500 m of fence, partially in quite difficult terrain, so quite heavy manual work can be expected (carrying the poles and netting around, etc.).

  • Idiomas hablados

    Czech: Fluido
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Slovak: Fluido
    Polaco: Intermedio
    Ruso: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own room with a bed in the farmhouse, together with our family. As you can see by me writing this, we have WiFi :) Bathrooms and living rooms at both floors will be available for you. You can eat with us when we are at home, and prepare your own food in the kitchen when we are away (we cover costs/provide food supplies). The nearest grocery shops are in Sogndalsfjøra, but we usually have quite large stocks of food at home, especially during winter. Smoking is not permitted on the property.

    SPECIAL FOR SUMMER 2021: For volunteers for fence reparation, we can provide accomodation in an old mountain cabin. No electricity, drinking water from nearby brook, cooking possibilities on fire or gas stove - simple living conditions, but very cosy and peaceful. The cabin is located right below a mountain plateau with plenty of hiking options, lake(s) and magnificient views.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Time off can be spend by: experiencing the nature around the farm - or, if you have car, around Sogndal, beautiful fjords and glaciers were already mentioned. You can also go skiing if you like. There is a beautiful mountain plateau in walking distance from the farm. Or you can just sit in the living room or at the terrace, read if you like (we have many books on different topics - mostly in German and Norwegian, but also some in English), drink tea/coffee/whatever, and just enjoy the view and silence.

    Available transport: bus and plane to/from Oslo and Bergen, boat to/from Bergen.
    From Sogndalsfjøra to/from our farm Ugla: own car is certainly easiest, but if you don't plan much travelling around, we can pick you up from the village by our car (and drive you back to the village when your stay is over).
    Otherwise - school busses (only outside of school holidays and weekends), bus to Resaland + a walk (30-45 minutes), bicycle (30-45 minutes), walk (1.5 hours?).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day (inclu, 5 days a week (depending on the weather)




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 447185511189