Help us with our spacious colonial revival home in the San Francisco Bay area, USA


Estados Unidos

562 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Please read our profile all the way through for information about what we need and who we are looking to host :-)

    We are an outgoing, easy going, loving couple looking for help around the house and in the garden. We own an 1800's historic house as we are slowing turning it into a fully restored historic home. We love guests who are polite, peaceful, motivated, and looking for good experiences and personal growth.

    We love to travel and explore the world. We are both outgoing and engaging. We enjoy nature and love to picnic and hike around. We sail when the weather and wind are good. We have an amazing bond to each other and are looking to create relationships, friendships and community with others.


    We have a large comfortable home. We are generally looking to host people who meet most of the following criteria.

    -CONSTRUCTION EXPERIENCE. Most of the tasks we have center around home remodeling. We have tools and experience ourselves (we are happy to teach). However, we are certainly looking for people who have experience with home remodeling especially painting, carpentry, plumbing, and electrical. Gardening, Landscaping and general help count too.

    -OVER AGE 27. We generally prefer folks over age 30. Over the 2 years we have hosted workaway we have met many great guests under 27. However, we have learned that we prefer and get along with people 30 and over.

    COUPLES. We have noticed that couples work better together and are more self sufficient and generally end up being more satisfied over all. We tend to prefer to host couples.

    INTERNATIONAL TRAVELERS. There is a specific type of guest who is traveling the world (or just the US) and using workaway to make the trip longer and more fulfilling. We find this type of person is ideal because they are on a longer timeline. We have hosted people who are just traveling for a few weeks and we always seem to feel that the work exchange part is a real chore for them and not a fun part of the trip.

    GOOD REVIEWS. We look for good reviews. We understand that not everyone can have a good review if they are new. However we have seen that the people who are committed to the workaway community build their reviews, as we do.

    3 WEEK HOSTING. We tend to want to host for 2 or 3 weeks. We have made exceptions to this rule but not many.


    Sue is a Sommelier who enjoys cooking and eating good food. You will often find her in the kitchen, baking while watching a cooking show. She loves music especially blues and jazz and has been a workwayer (so she knows what it is like). She comes from a large family and loves meeting and connecting with people.

    Chris is well read and has had many different experiences which include living off the grid and traveling in non conventional ways. He is a brewer. He has a music background and is interested in art, poetry, symbolism and Jungian psychology. He has done extensive volunteer forest restoration and has a deep love of the natural world.

    Solomon is our new puppy. He likes long walks in the park (or anywhere). He enjoys playing with the frisbee and all other fetch toys. He is kennel trained, but still learning to be a polite adult dog.

    We love the idea of a community and welcome individuals or couples who can help about 20-25 hours a week in exchange for a great place to stay, a great area to explore, and great hosts to interact with :-)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Painting prep, gardening, cooking, landscaping, basic carpentry, light housekeeping and some home remodeling.

    We have put several years of hard work into the remodel of our home. However it was built in the late 1800's and there is always something to do. We are happy to teach you some basic construction stuff and there is plenty to do that that is low skill tasks. One enormous project we have involves inside paint prep. The previous owner painted latex over all the oil base paint. for the most part it peels right off... but there is a lot of it.

    We have done most of the important plumbing, electrical and carpentry ourselves (and with friends). If you have these types of skills there is always small projects to do. Also we are looking for someone to repair our small hot tub.

    We have a large garden area. We are slowly getting that together as too. Depending on the season there is planting and pruning as well as landscaping work like digging and moving dirt. During certain times of the year we blanch and freeze veggies and well as make pickles.

    We work full time and would love some general help around the house which includes cleaning and meal prep. We enjoy making meals and sharing food and it would be great to host people who love this type of thing as well.

    In addition to this old house we have and antique furniture collection in various states of restoration. Some of that help requires special skills but much of it just takes a bit of effort and time.

    PLEASE NOTE: we will generally not host for less than 10 days or more than about 3 weeks. Please also note that while we do encourage visiting SF and the wine regions, without a car it can be expensive and time consuming to do so. So please take that into consideration and plan accordingly when requesting to stay with us.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a small guest bedroom but it is very cozy and charming. We are ideally set up for couples or a single person. Our home has a bath upstairs and another half bath down stairs. So the Bathroom situation would be shared.

    We have a well stocked kitchen. Chris is a life long vegetarian. Sue is vegetarian tolerant. We are happy to include food in with the accommodations. If you are a drinker we would ask you to be prepared to buy your own. If you enjoy wine you will be pleased. In California fine wines are abundant and well priced. Less expensive wine is still of good quality and as inexpensive as $2 a bottle.

    We are easy going people. We do have some house rules but for the most part we are extremely flexible. In our home we compost, reuse and recycle. Generally speaking we don't host pets. We would greatly prefer non smokers. Absolutely no smoking in and around house as we have allergies and are very sensitive to smoke.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a beautiful and spacious Victorian home in the San Francisco Bay area. We are in the North Bay and are a short drive away from both Napa and Sonoma wine regions. You can drive into the city (45 min) or catch the ferry (1 hour ride) which is a 6 block walk from where we live. We live right off the Napa river.

    We are also a few hours drive North and South from amazing redwood forests and beautiful coastal beaches.

    Public transportation in the bay area is not cheap. Riding the Ferry to San Fransisco is $13 each way. There is a bus/train system which is about $10. We have local guide books for our guest as well as other resources.

    The town we live in has a budding arts community with about 200 galleries. Most of them are in walking distance. There art events happening all the time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours a day. We are flexible on the help. Guests are welcome to spread it out or do a few long days and have a bunch of free time.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 446921753989