Woodwork and gardening enthusiasts invited to our homestead in Asturias, Spain

  • España
  • 100 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 31 may 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes



  • Descripción


    Our place is set in the Paraiso Natural of Asturias, in the northwest of Spain. The ancient estate/smallholding comprises 12 hectares of meadows and woodland. The property is eco certified as per January 2023.

    We, Tom (61) and Cecile (55), (both Dutch) hold University degrees, published books while having worked in complex knowledge intensive organisations and for-profit companies. We realised this way of living is inherently unsustainable and decided to actively take responsibility for a tiny piece of the natural world. We know what it takes to make choices and are happy to share our experiences and guide others on their path of finding meaning in life.

    It is managed as a Farm for the Future, using a minimal fossil fuels and promoting biodiversity. A flock of local heritage breed Xalda sheep help us to maintain the pastures. Cecilia is developing her skills to work with the wool, like spinning and felting. Of course we have chickens and ducks.

    We live in a very privileged location: quiet while very well connected to towns, beaches and natural parks. Several walks and hikes start right at our front door.

    We aim to create a quiet and open environment for people to feel respected in, to learn and to explore. We think we ourselves are generally quite sociable persons but we also need our downtime.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You’ll share the home stead /small holding lifestyle. If this is a dream for you, your stay may help you to build realistic expectations. We are open to share our thoughts and dilemmas in the descisions we have and had to make on our path.

    On a practical level, you can learn about sheep, wool, gardening, raising chickens, burning a woodstove along all other sorts of humble things going on at the farm. We’ve been studying zen and yoga for many years and practice samu while mucking out the stable or going through the daily chores. We can point out directions if your aim is to do the same.

  • Ayuda


    From June to August 2023 we aim to do some woodworking (eg. fixing windows, repairing the main staircase) while there’s also plenty of work in the garden, harvesting fruits, making marmelade and not to forget: our hay harvest.

    The regular chores in and around the house include checking pastures, cleaning and repairing fencing, taking care of the livestock, cleaning and cooking. There’s always some repairs to do and we keep an ever expanding list of projects.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    If you’re into improving your grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation in any of the languages we speak, we can offer help.

  • Alojamiento


    There is a separate floor for guests with 3 lovely bedrooms and a (new) bathroom (featuring a compost toilet).

    You’ll live in a traditional ancient house (parts AD 1664, parts much older), where we only (can) heat up max 2 rooms with wood stoves. So from Oktober to April you'll prefer to dress in thermal layers to stay comfortable. Usually our guests adapt pretty quick.

    We offer diverse and healthy meals. We have been eating vegetarian and Micobiotic (mainly vegan) in other stages of life but decided that adhering to a principled diet might be just another form of consumerism. Our goal is to ecologically produce 80% of food, meat, fruit and veggies for 4 persons.

    We adhere to a daily routine that includes breakfast around 8:00, lunch at 14:00, and supper around 20:00.

    We expect Workawayers to share the regular chores in an extended household.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Asturias, natural paradise, is the place for visiting spectacular beaches, mountains, for kayaking, running, cycling, surfing, fishing and good food. It is also a region rich in cultural heritage. The main cities of Oviedo and Gijón are easily reached by bus.

    We are at 3 kilometers from the nearest market town of Arriondas and 15km from several beaches. There are 2 bikes that can be used to go and explore the direct surroundings.

    We encourage volunteers to use their time of to go out and enjoy our lovely area.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales


  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Access is somewhat steep and narrow but small trucks and regular delivery vans arrive without any problem. Contact us if your van is huge and/or you fear its motor doesn’t have enough power.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We are open to discuss this possibility. We have one dog ourselves.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 446596318819

Comentarios (9)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)

Help in our permaculture project near Valencia, Spain
Help us in the beautiful town of Garganta la Olla, Spain