Come and stay with our family in Ballincollig, Co. Cork, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

292 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    10  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    488

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are looking for someone who is (preferably female) gentle and patient with children, friendly and a non-smoker! A French speaker would be a bonus (but not a requirement) as our teenager is learning some French.

    Approx dates available:

    From around April 20th until at least May 30th and up to the end of June if it suits you.

    ---------------------------------

    Hello!
    We're very easy going and not the most organised or tidy family!!! We like to meet new and interesting people. We've had quite a few workawayers in the past few years and it's been really positive for us and for them!

    We have 5 children. Our teenager is 16. We have two boys aged 10 and 8. Our little girl is 5 - loves unicorns! The 'baby' was two in November. They are all reasonably well behaved, good fun and interesting little people. The baby is breastfed (you'll need to be comfortable with that) and takes a fair bit of my attention. The kids enjoy climbing, rugby, soccer, Gaelic football and hurling. The older four are in school most of the day but I'm sure you'd enjoy their company once we are all home.

    We need help with childcare (two days every second week) and help with housework - putting away kids clothes, clearing up toys before bedtime, help in the kitchen and with cleaning.

    With 5 children we don't have a lot of time for hobbies but we like to do anything family friendly in our spare time -swimming, playgrounds, sports, walks and meeting up with friends. John is a chef. I am a teacher (primary level, age 4-13), but working part-time (every second week).

    We speak English but also a lot of GAEILGE (Irish) in our home and would welcome anyone learning either language. The children speak mostly English and I speak Irish to them.

    We don't mind whether you'd like to tag along with us or do your own thing in your free time. As I work "week on /week off " you would be free for sightseeing or travelling as you please every second week. We've had workawayers travel as far as Dublin, West Cork, Kerry and the cliffs of Mohir and Galway in their free time.

    We have a comfortable (if untidy) home and are within walking distance of Ballincollig (a satellite town). We are a short bus journey from Cork city.

    We have cats and kittens, a dog and 3 hens - coz we don't have enough to do already. We hope to put up a poly tunnel in the garden this year.....but I've been saying that forever.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Ayuda en casa

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We're very happy to help language learners whether English or Irish (Gaeilge)!

    John is happy to show you some Traditional Irish dishes.

    We're close to Cork City which is well worth exploring from a cultural perspective!

    We really do enjoy having someone join our family. Of course some people click better than others -we have kept in touch with some workawayers and I think they felt very much like they had found a second home. A few have come back to visit us for a few days since leaving!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We will need help with childcare from early January: about 3 days every two weeks and some babysitting.
    We need help with housework and particularly appreciate help keeping the kitchen clean - it's an ongoing battle with 5 kids.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Comfortable double room (ensuite and all to yourself). You are welcome to use family sitting room, dining room and kitchen as you need to and we hope you'll feel at home to do so. Of course we expect that you clean up after yourself!

    We try to eat home cooked meals where possible but we do lapse from time to time: Pizza in an emergency and ice-cream if we need a lift! We are trying not to eat so much sugar and don't keep it in the house if at all possible. If you'd like to cook sometimes that would be interesting for us too -but not a requirement.

    While we don't mind having someone with special dietary requirements. We tend to cook parts of meals separately as the kids can be fussy so this usually works well for vegetarians. You are welcome to cook for yourself if family meals don't suit your needs.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Things worth seeing:

    Blarney Castle -20 mins by car -the gardens are magical!

    Kinsale & Charlesfort 40 mins by car - adorable town with great seafood!

    Cork City: Gaol / The English Market / Nightlife / Shandon bells and lots more - 15 mins by car, accessible by bus too

    Killarney is 1hr away by car: Torc Waterfall is stunning, Muckross house and Gardens and the National Park are all worth a trip.

    Fota wildlife park

    Blackrock Observatory

    Mahon Point Shopping Centre

    University College Cork

    Cork Institute of Technology - 10 mins by car (swimming pool open to the public)


    What's in Ballincollig (walking distance)
    Regional Park -great for a walk or a run
    Gun powder mills - historical!
    Cinema (The Reel Picture)
    Some bars, cafes and shops
    Bus to the city

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25hrs per week (could travel every 2nd week)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 433587239144