Help with some garden projects in the San Juan Islands, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

24 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are an older couple who live part of the year on a small island and don't have the energy we used to have to take care of gardens, grass, stove wood, orchard, brush, and maintenance on two houses. Our place is seven acres with two acres of fields and five acres of woods, which runs across a point--so there are two different beaches. The smaller house in the woods is about 700 square feet and is available for workawayers. The island is Waldron, in the San Juan Islands, and is about two by three miles in size with miles of sandy beaches. It has no stores or commercial businesses by the island's preference, but has farm stands, a post office, a school, and a vibrant progressive community.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Living on Waldron is a unique experience because you can't drive there, there is no tourism, about 90 live there in the winter and 150 in the summer, there is a strong sense of community yet people cherish their privacy, and it has evolved to be quite politically progressive. The only electricity is that generated by solar panels. Internet and phone connections are spotty, but there are places in our field which have decent reception ( and the smaller house has reception through Canada--which is free for some carriers).

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with mowing grass, weeding and gardening, chopping wood, clearing brush, light household chores, and some house maintenance ( staining, washing windows, cleaning gutters).

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    It's a one room house in the woods with a large loft. Drinking water is well water which is carried in a ten gallon barrel in a wheelbarrow, and there is lots of rain water in barrels around the house. No electricity in this house. There is a dressing room/bucket shower area. The outhouse has a wonderful view of the woods. The house has a wood cook stove, and there is a little refrigeration available in our house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Transportation on and off the island is by airplane, mailboat, or private boats, so it's kind of expensive to get on or off the island....We will provide one main meal a day

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 426441829715