Help us starting a self-sufficient farm with alpacas and more in Sorano, Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italia

163 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    86.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have met a year ago on the Azores, where we decided that we would be running an Alpaca farm some day. That day came a lot faster than expected :) . We moved to Italy in November 2021 and are still finding our way, making new friends, learning the language and planning for the farm. Our house is large enough to comfortably host 4 people, the land is about 1.7 hectares. We have a greenhouse, fruit trees, olive trees, bamboo, a whole valley which will be the Alpaca home. This summer, we want to start with the project described below. Until then a lot of groundwork needs to be done :)

    Close to our land, about 10 minutes by car, there is a wonderful breath work community where events are organized that you can participate in. These include breath work sessions, yoga, massage, lunches en dinners, full moon gatherings, discussion groups, pizza nights, sharing circles etcetera.

    Thomas is a 31-year-old entrepreneur who comes from the hospitality service. For the past 7 years, he owned a restaurant in a busy, urban spot in the Netherlands, where he trained young people with autism to become more self-supporting.

    Waleria works as a human rights consultant, breath work facilitator and runs a human flourishing project for corporations.

    Thomas will mostly be running the day-to-day operations, since Waleria is still working on her job.

    Our vision is this: we will run a regenerative, permaculture based organic farm with Alpacas and other animals. We will have space for guests and volunteers, and eventually we want to become a spot where young people with autism learn to become more self-sufficient and be in touch with nature. We will be co-hosting bushcrafting-workshops, alpaca-related workshops and crafting workshops. One day, we would like to invite young people with a distance to the job market, to explore and learn on our farm. All the future produce will be for our own consumption.

    We are both fluent in English and our native languages (Dutch, German and Russian). Waleria speaks Spanish and French. We are both practising our Italian, you are very welcome to practice with us!

    IMPORTANT: we are looking to get our Alpacas later on this year. They are not here yet! So far we have a dog, four cats (from the neighbour) and are likely to get chicken soon!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are in central Tuscany, in a part that is older and less popular then the Tuscany you see in the pretty pictures. Although the land around is beautifull and rural, there aren't as many touristic things to do here as you might expect from Tuscany. The area is rural, full of wildlife, clean air, rivers, olive trees and more. The biggest cultural exchange you will have, will be the one with nature. On the other hand, we are blessed with nearby natural hotsprings, which serve the double function of a meeting spot for locals. We like to hang out there once a week, and meet new people.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Tasks to do in the house when it's rainy are, but are not limited to: painting, refurbishing furniture, cooking, cleaning, crafting.

    Most of the work will be outside though, and will include: forest work, planting seeds, harvesting, trimming grass, construction, maintaining and collecting eggs from chicken, restoring fences, building an alpaca-barn, chopping wood etcetera.

    All the future produce will be for our own consumption.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio
    Italiano: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We would love to learn better Italian and in exchange we can teach you some English.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our volunteers get to stay in the top floor of the house, where we have two rooms and a bathroom with a shower, a basic closet, a desk and heating. We are still working on getting wifi, so for now we have to rely on hotspots on our phone, which work quite well. In summer, you can also decide to put up a hammock and sleep in the forest or near the alpacas, which we highly recommend doing at least once!

    Downstairs we have a living room, Walerias office and a fully equipped kitchen where we can cook our meals.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is no local transport, so you will either have to rely on us for transportation, or borrow one of our bicycles to go your own way. The closest village with a restaurant is 3 min away by car. A village with shops and the breathwork community is 8 km away (uphill). Recommended is bringing your own means of transport, but if that's not an option, we are happy to discuss this with you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Our wifi connection relies on 4G, it's usually stable, but in the past months it has happened that the signal wasn't too good for a couple of days. Waleria also works remote.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a spot for a camper van where we provide electricity, water and waste disposal.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a dog, there are 4 cats living around the house and of course we will have the Alpacas soon, so your pet will need to be able to deal with all this!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 425754567183