actualizado  

Join us in creating our new way of life on a beautiful piece of land in lower Alentejo, Odemira, Portugal

  • 178 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 13 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Ilka and Yves, a couple from Germany, who started a new way of life for us in the beginning of 2015 on a beautiful piece of land in lower Alentejo/Portugal (district of Odemira).
    We wish to live with nature and animals. Getting back to the basics of life :-)
    We have a nice community with our neighbours and like to be social with our friends. Come and join us for a while, we'll love to share our ideas and knowledge with you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Yves has an immense knowledge in constructing, since he did that in his former life in Germany. He knows on a professional level how to work with wood, tiles, drywall construction, electrical installation, plumbing, roofwork and so much more...
    He also became a compost fetishist in the last years and provides our garden with lots of really good soil.

    Ilka loves to make delicious meals and cakes with fruits and vegetables from our own garden. She is a passionate cook.
    Since she started organic gardening here, she can tell you quite a bit about the cicle of a whole garden year with all its necessities, about upgrading the soil and good or bad plant neighbors.
    In her heart she is an artist and loves to do all different types of artwork with various materials and in diverse sizes, if she finds the time for it and peace and quiet.
    She is a Forró lover and likes to go dancing.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    If you want to learn how to keep chicken, sheep or cats and dogs and you are generally interested in farm life and gardening and would like to work on a bio-ecological farm, you may have found the right place to be.

    The volunteers actively help with the daily farm work and building projects. The activities range from caring for animals (feeding, grooming, mucking out, bedding, collecting eggs etc.), maintaining outdoor facilities (e.g. repairing and building fences), garden work (clearing garden beds from weeds/old plants and distribute new compost soil, mulching, planting seedlings, harvesting and preserving fruit and vegetables).

    In addition to the mostly manual tasks, you will also do general work around the house, as well as the fruit and vegetable garden on our organically run farm, which does not use any artificial fertilizers or pesticides. We use different approaches on how to garden. There is a lot of aspects of permaculture, but also no-dig-garden-beds and the use of mixed cultures. You can immerse yourself completely in the simple, sometimes hard but very fulfilling country life.

    As most of the work is happening in the great outdoors, you should not be bothered by dirty clothes, aching muscles, all-weather work and hot climates. You should not be allergic to animals or hay/straw, have a generally good level of physical fitness and be willing and able to learn.
    Also mentally you should be well-balanced and stable so that you feel comfortable far away from your comfort zone and city distraction, because our farm is absolutely in the countryside (next village is about 7km away).

    From a volunteer we do expect the best work you can offer, reliability, honesty and an easy going character. This also includes treating each other with honesty and trust. If something goes "wrong" (be it damage caused or interpersonal issues) we want to find solutions in an honest and open discussion. On the other hand laziness or bad behavior will end in terminating the stay.

    About the working hours: As we aim to finish an activity before starting something new, there is no "clock-in" work. However, we try to arrange it so that the daily working time of volunteers is about 5 hours, 5 days a week. It can happen, that one day is longer to finish something, but then another day may be shorter. We try to create a varied work schedule in order to take into account the skills and inclinations of the volunteer.

    Living close together, sharing meals and being involved in everyday life and work creates a special bond and the volunteer often becomes almost a member of the family. We are therefore happy to invest a lot of time and attention, interest and goodwill. In general we live by the motto „giving and receiving“. However, we also expect that anything entrusted to you (whether animals, machines or tools, etc.) is treated with the same care and respect as if it belonges to a family member.

    Duration of the stay: The minimum stay as a volunteer is 4 weeks. Shorter stays are not possible, but when it comes to project experience with a deeper insight, a period of 3 months or more makes sense.

    Volunteers must have liability and health insurance in their home country!

    Right now we need help with gardening and all sorts of outsidework like making firewood, collecting rocks from our fields, preparing the meadows and grassland for the sheep, working with a brush cutter to clean the land, take care for the animals and lots of other things.
    The next main building projects are gonna be: renovating our main house! Laying tiles (floor and walls) For that work you have to be a professional!
    We love people who can cook well and like to prepare good meals and share recipes :)
    So if you are interested in working with us we would be more than happy to share our knowledge with you :-)
    Please tell us your intentions for why you do workaway and inform us about your skills and what you expect from your stay.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We'd love to learn Portuguese.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are in the lucky situation to be able to use the guest house of our friend just up the hill. It is a fully furnished, warm and clean house with almost everything you could wish for.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are non-smokers and appreciate not to have too much smoking directly around us ;)

    We do the grocery shopping for the week. The Volunteers always have breakfast on their own. We will have either lunch or dinner together and the other meal is then again seperately. We eat mostly vegetables, but also some meat (our own sheep and chicken).
    Vegan meals can not be provided unless you want to take care of your own food preparation.

    An overland bus (rede-expressos.pt) runs several times a day daily from Lisbon to Odemira (12km away).
    The closest train station is Santa Clara/Sabóia (25km away).
    On agreement we could pick you up at either place.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We can provide 4G at the moment via WiFi in the house where you stay.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 423391713295

Comentarios (9)



Fotos

Comentarios




















Gardening and garden renovations Podentes, Portugal
Come help with renovation projects and gardening in the historic center of Porto or in my countryside home near Porto, Portugal