Join our family in the countryside in a small village called Vehmersalmi, Finland

Country

Finlandia

79 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are "not-so-typical-country"-family which lives in countryside, in the middle-eastern part of Finland, in a village called Vehmersalmi. It is located 52 km from nearest city of Kuopio (size proximum 100 000 people). In Kuopio we have lots of summer events like wine fest week with Finnish bands ect, Kuopio Rock festival ect. This area is full of lakes and possibilities to do fishing, hiking, picking berries ect.

    We have a sheep farm during summer seasons, cause we are training herding dogs (300 dogs and their handlers per summer.) People are coming to our farm for herding camps and evening training and trials. We have 7 dogs, also hunting dogs. Two old ponies which do nothing else than enjoy their eating and chilling out and escaping from fences. We have chicken, geese, ducks, turkeys, minipigs, cats. So quite a zoo. But very "old fashioned. Nothing seriously productive anymore.

    Our farm buildings are old like hell (and some of them include ghosts, belive or not.). So all buildings are in the need of renovation and fixing and painting- all the time. Yards are full of fences to fix. Barn full of sheep shit to shivel. 100 sheeo to shear,Tough work but certainly fun and entertaining- depending of course if you have enough dark scence of humor like we do and you are not afraid of physical work or want some exercise in "organic way" instead of going to gym. Your accommondation is summer cottage on our yard. You eat good food and we take care of your energy levels (I am sugar bakery. Or if you are vegetarian, we can feed you with carrots. Not. It was a joke. Anyway: you will not starve here.)

    Transporting from Kuopio is of course arranged to you cause this farm is located so deep in country that bus lines are not reaching us. You can stay as long as you want between the middle of May till in the end of September.We speak fluid English and poor Swedish.

    I am sorry about my silence on this site during year 2021. It was rough and busy year in many ways, but new decade starts better and we are back in track again. Summer 2022 will be full of people,sheep, renovation and other work...but also fun, so we hope to get many active and social visitors here this summer.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Survive. Basically they learn to survive in country :D Seriously they meet lots of people here and have possibilities to change thoughts, learn our language ect. Of course nearby there is lots of Finnish summer events and we can offer you time and possibilities to join them between working, depending on what are your interests.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Building, renovating and painting old buildings, gardening, shearing sheep, shiveling shit ect farmwork. Skills are not so important, but the attitude in learning new things. And of course enjoying country and being fond of animals.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Swedish: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Summer cottage. Normal beds including sheets ect, electricity. You can shower and visit sauna, toilet in our home which in in the same yard, While staying you are our family member so our home is your home. If you get hungry between breakfast or lunch, you can go and freely use fridge. If you need computer or want to watch tv, just use remote control. Simple as that.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you have driving license, you can borrow a car for visiting sights nearby. We can advise how to visit local barn dances, festivals and sight seeings. And during evenings you can go to swim or fishing.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (4.7)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 415787962967