Join us trying to live more sustainably on a 4 hectare plot in Algodres, Portugal

Country

Portugal

10 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/02/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of three. Kayley, Rick and (baby) Martin. We have lived in Portugal since 2018 but come from The UK originally. We moved here to start a family and live more sustainably.We have achieved the first of those things and know the second is a lifelong journey.
    Our land is really diverse as we have pine woodland, water meadow, huge granite boulders and ancient walls on our 4ha plot. Along with 2 cats and Honey the dog we are Restoring what we can (the old stone house, ancient drainage and watercourses), Regenerating what’s been lost (soils, hillsides and biodiversity) and Redecorating (eventually when the house has long been finished and we’re tired of our early choices of decor.)
    (Sorry we needed another R word but it’s also important to have long term goals)
    We are all about long term goals. We know our project is one of lifelong stewardship of this place and sharing it with people is as much part of that as the day-to-day graft.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer a warm family environment and feel that having you stay on our land is the same as inviting you into our home. We are British but live here in Portugal with a wealth of experience from travelling and volunteering ourselves. We use permaculture and sustainability as our starting point and have been continuing to learn on the job since we bought our place. We love to share skills and ideas and know this is not a one way street, we’re sure there’s something we can learn from you too!
    This part of Portugal in often overlooked but has so much to offer from Neolithic stone circles to epic mountains and tiny, from cute stone villages up to the green, garden city of Viseu (which has great bars, and a vibrant music, theatre and arts scene).
    We try to go places when we can and will always be happy to invite you along, we enjoy sharing time with easygoing, interesting people and like to imagine we’re interesting easygoing people too. Also, it’s important for us to be engaged with all of our diverse range of neighbours and would hope to share with you the range of lives being lived in this beautiful part of Portugal!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are slowly regenerating our semi abandoned 4ha farm into a functioning, healthy mixed landscape. This includes everything from developing a garden, refurbishing a house, planting trees and restoring a stream and watercourses. Help could be anything from weeding or planting or help cutting trees to a bit of DIY, painting or pointing brickwork. Pruning, digging holes, mending fences and building bonfires could all be in the mix too. Really all you need is a good work ethic and a have-a-go spirit and we can always achieve something together. If you know how to just muck in and join in with life here then we’re happy to have you whatever other skills you have.
    We also have a weekly work swap with our neighbours where we share skills and resources to help one-another with our projects. We live within a diverse area with an extremely rural Portuguese way of life at one extreme and an influx of people from all over Europe making lives and projects at the other.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are both qualified English teachers with years of experience between us. We are happy to share that. We work hard with our Portuguese but it’s a slow road and we are always open to finding ways to improve. If you’re a fluent speaker then we’d love to learn something from you. A game, a story, a phrase… the future conditional… anything really, we’re always keen to learn!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a comfortable, well looked after caravan for volunteers with its own cooking facilities and independent electricity. It has a double bed, heater and everything you will need to be comfy.
    We tend to share lunch and provide a box of supplies and goodies for making breakfast and dinner. We’re mostly veggie but can generally accommodate vegan needs and other dietary requirements, just let us know so we can be prepared.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There’s are plenty of nice villages nearby particularly our own, Algodres, which has a rich history hidden down twisty lanes overlooking the Serra da Estrella. It’s a short walk into the village with its bar and a cafe and a drive to town. There are several stone cicles and an old Neolithic fort within walking distance and loads of walking routes. A sunny day losing yourself down old wooded tracks and finding romantic looking ruins is a day well spent.
    We’re near to good train and bus links from the local town of Fornos De Algodres which can take you to South to Faro or North to Porto should you wish. We’re regularly in and out of town as well as Viseu and other places hereabouts. In the summer there’s always trips to river beaches and into the mountains and we’ll happily show you the sights. Plus we can always offer a lift whenever we’re going out .
    We try to live conscientiously and sustainably, We ask that if you come you join us for a while you join us in the effort. Our water comes from a well, our power from solar and we have a compost toilet. We are definitely off grid. We use nature friendly soaps and washing products as it will all go back into the land. As yet the garden isn’t suppling all our needs, but we’ll get there one day.
    It’s important that you feel welcomed by us and that you join in with life here. be it doing a bit washing up, petting Honey the dog, chatting to the neighbours when we do work exchanges or they pop by, maybe doing a bit of cooking… We want you to take part in what we can offer, a warm family home and a more eco way of life.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Couldn’t get anything bigger than a large van down our track but we have a flat area in the woods for park ups.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Cat, dog and baby friendly pets are as welcome as cat, dog and baby friendly people.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 384424612368