Help us with our two children in our eco-home, nestled between beaches and mountain in beautiful Cape Town, South Africa



205 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

  • Descripción


    We are a young family with two children, aged 4 and 1 years old. We live in the beautiful and vibrant city of Cape Town, in a quaint suburb just a short walk from the beach, mountain and a variety of lovely cafes and shops. We are slowly turning our home into an off-grid eco homestead, and have a large organic food garden. We both work full time from home - Janna runs a local non-profit focusing on holistic education in township schools, and Andy does both digital design and urban permaculture consulting. We are passionate about wellness, sustainability, community & education - eating healthy local food, using biodiesel for our car, connecting with our neighbours & respectful parenting are a few examples of how we put this into practice. We are also passionate about spending time in nature, yoga and music - so you could expect outdoor adventures & the occasional house gig. Through Janna's work you would be able to visit or volunteer in the township schools where her project is based or connect with their several partnering NGO's doing a variety of development work. Through Andy's work & our home you would be able to learn about permaculture, urban resilience and going off-grid.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cape Town is a beautiful and dynamic city, offering a diverse range of activities and experiences - from outdoor sports such as rock climbing & surfing, to volunteering in under-resourced communities, to fantastic restaurants, theatre, music & more! We live in Kalk Bay which gives you easy walking access to all of the above and was recently voted one of the top 10 cities in the world! Quaint cafes, second hand shops, beaches and hikes all at our doorstep! There are numerous national parks nearby as well as interesting cultural places to visit. The nearby suburb of Muizenberg is a young and happening place and there are plenty of interesting classes and offerings, from learning Xhosa to dance, yoga, capoeira, numerous art classes & the best beginners surfing beach in town.

    Through Andy's work and our home, you will also have lots of opportunities to learn about permaculture and off-grid living - from greywater systems, organic gardening, composting, biodigesters, natural pools and more!

    Through Janna's work, you could also spend time volunteering with the children in the townships of Khayelitsha and Lavender Hill where her NGO is based.

    Through the help in our home, you'll gain lots of experience working with toddlers and babies. You'll learn about our gentle & respectful approach to parenting, as well as skills such as creativity, patience and multi-tasking.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    "It takes a village to raise a child" and we're looking to expand our little village! This will involve helping with our 2 children, as well as help with shopping and cooking. We would need support for about 4/5hrs per day for 5 days a week. We are quite flexible and so the exact times and days could vary depending on your's and our needs. We have a full time nanny who works from 8:30am - 4:30pm who will be with the baby during the mornings and both children in the afternoons. During the week the workaway help would involve 1hr in the morning while we prepare for work and school, and then 2hrs from 4:30-6:30pm. This help could involve holding the baby, preparing school snacks or playing with our toddler. The other 1/2hrs would be for shopping and cooking which could be done anytime during the day. Some weeks could be Monday - Friday but it would be great to sometimes switch a weekday for a Saturday/Sunday. The weekend help would mainly be with the children either at home, or being an extra pair of hands for an outdoor adventure.

    An international drivers licence is required for the shopping (we will provide the car). It would be great if you have experience with cooking healthy wholesome dinners. Also, experience with and a natural flair for young children is a must. Our toddler loves being in the garden, riding bikes, playing with cars & lego, listening to stories & singing songs - he is full of fun energy and is super cute :) Our baby is one years old, is very smily and happy and love to dance :)

    We love spending time together as a family and generally our home atmosphere is relaxed and positive - playing music, eating meals together, gardening and connecting with friends & family. You would be welcome to be part of this!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Accommodation would be in the guest room of our house. You would have your own room with a double bed and your own bathroom. There is access to wifi and a washing machine in the house. When living with us you would be part of our family and share food and meal times with us. We eat everything but we try and source as organically and sustainably as we can. We are a non smoking house. We have a friendly cat called Panda.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Cape Town is a fantastic city! Because it is built around a mountain but also along the coast, nature experiences are entwined with city life. It is also a rich cultural experience, with strong Xhosa and Cape Malay influences. The food is wonderful, people are generally friendly and there is great diversity in interesting places to see.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 382334499632