Experience life in our small community in the scenic Numinbah Valley, Australia

Country

Australia

actualizado   Última hora

295 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    14  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    1709

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *Our biggest needs are help with our kids (being fun, and also in charge!), household help like cleaning and tidying, and experience with gardening and outdoor maintenance.*

    We live in a small intentional community on a 50 acre rural property. My partner Gregor and I live in one of the houses with our 3 small children, and you would mostly spend time with us, other volunteers, and sometimes other residents. Some of our interests are growing delicious organic food, native bush regeneration, natural learning, and peaceful parenting.

    We also have a second property just over the border in NSW, where we host volunteers also. The projects there are similar and it's also a lovely, rural property. As the QLD border is closed, if you are coming from NSW, sometimes people help us at the NSW house first, if it's needed, and then we can help you cross into QLD.

    Our projects include gardens and orchards, rainforest regeneration, and raising happy children. We are in the 'ideas stage' of creating a group of homeschooling families here, so we're always interested to share ideas with people about raising children and ways of learning. We're in the beautiful Numinbah Valley near the Gold Coast, a half hour drive from Nerang train station, and half an hour from Murwillumbah bus station. We can pick you up from these places, or the Gold Coast airport, as there's no public transport in our valley.

    The property is very beautiful, in a valley between two national parks, with dams, a big creek flat, a huge shady waterhole for swimming, and lots of wildlife. There are many beautiful wild parrots and other birds, wallabies grazing on the lawn, a fruit bat colony, and occasionally we have seen koalas and platypus.

    We have some quiet family times, other times with volunteers, family and friends visiting. We are a community, but that doesn't mean we all spend every day together. About every two months we hold camping gatherings on the creek flat, with up to 50 people. Optus and Telstra work here but Vodafone does not. We have mobile wifi, available for moderate use.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our community project: We're hoping to create a small extended family or tribe to support each other in the journey of raising children, and give the kids (and adults) a different experience. If you are interested in how intentional communities form and work, and what the benefits might be, you might find a stay with us rewarding. However we are very much in the early stages, so please don't expect to find an enlightened group of people with perfect practices! Living in community takes a lot of learning. Likewise, we would like to live sustainably / regeneratively, but we are only at the beginning of that journey.

    Land and wildlife: We live in a beautiful biodiverse area, and we have knowledge we can share with you about local wildlife and ecosystems. We have a rainforest tree planting program on our beautiful creek flat, and a small native plant nursery, as well as being close to several beautiful national parks with lots of bushwalks. There's a glow worm cave just 5 minutes drive from our place. We also have a range of knowledge and practices about gardening in local Australian subtropical conditions, and some knowledge of no-dig and permaculture principles. We aim to produce as much food as possible to feed ourselves (a work in progress!)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We're looking for people to help us with child care, cleaning, household help, gardening, landscaping, weeding, watering, rainforest regeneration, handy work, or property maintenance. I'm also looking for someone with marketing skills to help to develop a marketing plan for a native fruit jam we make :)

    We ask for your help for 4 hours a day if the work is physically hard, like digging, or 5 hours if it's easier, for 5 days a week. We are happy to talk it through with you, if you would like to have a different arrangement. In exchange we give you all your food, except treats or alcohol, though we are happy to pick them up for you. We are happy to help you get around if we can, to see the local sights, when you have free time. We often go away to a "weekender' house nearby, on the weekends. Sometimes volunteers come with us, and sometimes they stay home. We sometimes are able to lend a car, but not always.

    Like most hosts, our lives are full, with a young family, a large property and several households to look after. We value proactive people who can blend into our way of life and want to help us make improve it. We have made many good friends through Workaway, and look forward to making many more :)

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have two spare rooms, one in the house with the family and one downstairs. We eat everything, but can accommodate most diets. We have a huge garden and orchards full of organic vegetables, nuts and fruits. You are welcome to cook! We prefer non smokers, but if you smoke, check with us and we can see if there's a space for you. If you have particular needs or circumstances, please let us know before you arrive, so that we can be sure we can accommodate you.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Days off can be spent bushwalking, swimming, or visiting local towns, beaches, attractions and national parks. We are close to the Gold Coast and 90 minutes from Byron Bay. There's no local public transport in our valley, but there is always someone coming or going, so we are happy to help you get around on your days off.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 377314741414