Come help our family to live more sustainably in Foster, Australia

Country

Australia

11 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 26 dias

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    As a young family of four, we moved to our beautiful property 2 years ago. We have 40 acres to play with, partly regrowth native forest, partly orchards, partly vegetables patch, a few animals to help us maintain some parts, and lots and lots of flowers. Our dream is to be self-sufficient while being able to respect and protect the native eco-system that Australian bush has to offer. We are learning as we go the principles of permaculture. We are trying to use native plants as much as possible. We are hoping to reach one day zero waste.

    My partner Josh works full-time as an industrial abseiler. I (Capu) work part-time from home (baking pies, sausage rolls, cakes and sourdough bread). Our two kids go part-time to childcare and kindy. We will spend time together during the week. You're always welcome to pop in our house to say hello, have a chat or hang out. We like getting to know our helpers! You will have access to fruits and veggies from our garden when available.

    I am French and my partner is Australian. We love having visitors. We traveled ourselves before having kids and with them and have experienced wwoofing. We love our music so if you have an instrument you can play, please bring it!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our regrowth forest has lots of little tracks so you will be able to go for walks. We have wombats, wallabies, lots of native birds, lyre birds, koalas... and deers! There is a little creek down the forest with a little fall. We ourselves go for walks regularly.
    We will discuss Permaculture principles and how we implement them. You may know about it yourself. You don't need to have any particular knowledge about gardening or permaculture but if you're interested then we will have lots to discuss!
    We love exchanging ideas, usually while listening to music. We are social people and love a chat. We love discussing climate change and things we can change in our daily lives. But we love discussing music too or any other topic!
    If you want to learn English, we speak English at home. But I speak French with our children. So if you want to learn French, it's a good way to start.

    A perfect place to relax and discover spectacular landscapes while exchanging about reducing our impact on the planet.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for one or two volunteers at a time. We ask for 5 hours of help a day, 5 days a week, food provided. Let us know about your dietary requirements, we are happy to accomodate.

    We need help with our garden and veggie patch using permaculture and bio-dynamic principles, looking after fruit trees (pruning, picking). We also need help with weeding, cutting wood and taking care of our chickens. We will from time to time need some help making our own natural cleaning products, beeswax wraps and other things that can help us reduce our waste. We usually ask for some house keeping help too, you will see we get busy with the children. It usually means vacuuming and cleaning up here and there. And if you like cooking I will ask you for some help to cook our daily meals to share. Sometimes we also ask for help with our kids but only if you are comfortable with it. If you are French, and feel happy to do it, Josh would love some French lessons a few times a week :) If you have any specific skills, let us know as it is always a plus. We've had carpenters and builders coming and they helped us with a few building projects (pizza oven, chicken coop, general maintenance...).

    If you are interested in any particular project, let us know and we will try to organise it for your stay. We are open to new ideas and suggestions. We can learn so much when pulling together as a team especially when it comes to protecting our precious planet.

    We recommend that you have your own car as we are a few kms out of town and if you want to visit the area you will need your own vehicle.

    Pets are welcome. Smokers too as long as you smoke outside and make sure you dispose your cigarette butts responsibly.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Helpers will have their own bungalow with a beautiful view on the forest. The bungalow is new, with bathroom, toilets and kitchen. There is a bedroom upstairs and a futon downstairs. There is a bar fridge and a new induction cooktop. We will provide you with food and we love sharing meals with our helpers. But you can choose to have your meals in your bungalow if you want some privacy. We ask for help with cooking and cleaning up after meals as we consider it is part of living together.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Foster is only 8 minutes away and has everything you'd need: IGA and Foodworks, Pharmacy, Hospital, Op Shops, Butcher, Nursery (mainly native. I spend a bit of time there!), mechanic, Fruit and Vegie shop, Hardware store, Cafes, Pub...

    Wilson's Prom is just 30 mins away from our place and is a great place to discover. The coast is about 20-30 mins away. South Gippsland has lots to offer, flora, fauna, wineries, cidery, beaches, forests, falls, the arty town of Fish Creek ... Toora is close too and has beautiful old buildings. I'm about to start a bakery there that has an 1880s scotch oven!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Welcome digital nomads! I am working from home too (but in the kitchen) and you are welcome to do the same. You can use our office at home. We have wifi and never had any problem with it. It works well. My partner Josh works from home here and there and has never complained about it.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have lots of room for your car/van

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    we're happy to have dogs but we don't really wants cats just for the wildlife we have here. Unless it's an indoor cat.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 376998778138