Help restore our historic family home in stunning surroundings, Nordfold, Norway

Country

Noruega

new host  

9 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

    Aún no ha sido calificado
  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/05/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am Amanda and I just moved to Steigen last year to finish my master thesis, after living 10 years in Copenhagen. I loved it so much here that I have decided to stay. We are 3 siblings that inherited our grandmothers childhood house from 1874 and our dream is to restore it, using the same old building traditions that our ancestors used. It's a unique cultural heritage and the history from the way they lived is unique and we would love to keep and convey the old traditions. The house needs repair and we are this summer repairing the roof. We have applied for funding to hire a professional timber that can guide us in the process so we can learn. Last summer we where a lot of people gathered and we would love to repeat it this summer with people from around the world. We can therefore offer a unique experience and stay in return of some help on repairing the roof. We hope you will join us this summer and are looking forward hearing from you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The house is situated in beautiful municipality Steigen, often referred to as the most beautiful natural secret in Nordland. Steigen has varied nature, spectacular mountains, views of the fjord, sea and the Lofoten wall, a unique archipelago with chalk white sand beaches and azure green waters and beautiful inland areas with river rapids, fishing lakes and valleys.

    Nature offers great opportunities for activities: fishing, hiking and a rich cultural life with both small and large cultural events.

    We can offer a stay on a remote half island that was vacated in the 1970s, travel back in time and experience the old norwegian fisherman way of living. We do have electricity, but we get water from a well outside the house. The farmhouse are located on a height surrounded by the fjord, mountain and a hike up the hill you can view the glacier Helldalisen. The piece you get here are indescribable and that is not because of the bad detection. There will be professional timber guiding the repair of the roof, so you also have a chance to learn an old traditional craft. The midnight sun will be a beautiful experience that you can only get up north and its really something special.

    We will fish and gather a lot the food ourself from the rich nature around and cook it outside as we like it the best.

    We bought two canvas glamping tents last year and they will be available for the volunteers. The can accomodate up to 8 people, but we will try to minimize it to 4 so you can stay comfortable. This depends of course on how many we will be in total.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for travelers to help restore an old farmhouse from 1874. We are changing the original turf roof this summer, starting up i July. We need all the help we can get and would love to get to know new people from around the world.

    Its a plus if you have experience from carpentry or have worked with timber craft or old cultural heritage earlier, but we are also welcoming architects students or anyone that is eager to use their hands.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Swedish: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Glamping tent that each accomodate up to 8 people. They are big and can fit proper beds. We will most likely only accomodate 4 people per tent for the comfort.

    The food will be a mix of fish, seafood and greens from the surrounding area, but we will of course supply with groceries from the supermarket and the local farms from the mainland. We are lucky to have a rich local food community in Steigen. Most of the dishes will be made outside on the bonfire and over the barbecue, but we will make variation so we can taste all of what Steigen has to offer.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    On the free time Steigen has endless mountains to hike and two of Norway best beaches; Bøsanden and Brennviksanden. You can also rent kayaks and see Steigen from the sea. Go fishing and explore the wild eagle population. Its also really good for biking, I love biking for hours, exploring new areas of Steigen.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    You can bring your campervan and park it on the mainland. The work however is on the halfisland and only availble by boat. But its absolutely possible to stay in your own home, we just need to know in advance.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have two dogs ourself; Ralph and Tessa, they will 2,5 year this summer as the are siblings. They are a mix of weimaraner and alaska huskey. They are both very friendly and playful.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 373362144938