Join our Irrigated One-of-a-Kind Old Homestead in Southern Arizona, USA


Estados Unidos

517 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    Details are important to me... I feel it helps to make an informed decision. So... here I go:

    Our homestead is situated in a one-of-a-kind, little town in SouthEastern Arizona, close to Tombstone & Bisbee. In summer, it's a green oasis in the desert...

    The house and guest cottage are surrounded by humongous Mesquite Trees and pasture. The farm was founded in 1938. There is a lot of history, as not much has changed since then - and we like it that way! The original Adobe Farmhouse is our home, and a cabin, moved from Fort Huachuca in 1954, is our guest cottage.

    Ever since I bought the farm in winter of 2018, our goal is to bring this amazing place back to its old glory! We've got a lot done already, and the work is far from being finished. Would you like to help us?

    There are 2 acres of left wild mesquite forrest and about 10 acres of irrigated pasture that we are in the process of rehabilitating including the irrigation system. We have 3 horses, 4 dogs, numerous chickens and 2 cats and some wildlife that crosses through the property... from raccoons to deer, turtles, javalinas and more...

    Last year, we started a large organic kitchen garden. We are currently in the process of added more raised beds, berry bushes and fruit trees. We are also landscaping around the house and cottage permaculture style with a twist of English, French and Mediterranean garden elements. I am super interested in composting and soil regeneration.

    In the desert, harvesting water and retaining water on the property are a major focus as well. Getting our irrigation system to be the best it can be is one of my major goals! I'm currently studying permaculture with Erik Ohlsen with Permaculture Skill Center and Permaculture Artisans, and we're implementing my newly found knowledge as we go.

    There are still projects to do around the cottage and house... having rudimentary carpentry skills and knowledge of 'handy man tasks' would be great. Although, if you are willing to learn and provide strong helping hands, that can work, too!

    We carry flies out of the house. Scorpions (once in a blue moon I find one) are re-homed to the other end of the property. Butterflies and bees love our flowers, and the Giant Mesquite Bugs are amazing creatures! We have bunnies, deer, toads, guinea hens, quail, a gopher snake, tarantulas, lots of lizards etc... on the property. Everybody is welcome here!

    I moved to the US in 1995 and have spent the last 20+ years mostly in Colorado where I renovated a farm in Pagosa Springs for the last 8 years. I bought the farm here in SouthEastern Arizona in the winter of 2018 - because I was done freezing my butt off... I love it here: Flip flop weather year round!

    Yes, it's hot in the late spring, summer and early fall but the shade of our fabulous trees, the cooling monsoon rains and our irrigated farm make it possible to enjoy our warm/hot weather season. The winters are cool but we rarely get any snow.

    My partner joined me here at the farm a couple years ago. Seth had a major motorcycle accident at the age of 17 when the suspension of his bike failed. He was several days in a coma, and re-started life unable to talk, walk, read, write, remember and comprehend. He is quite the amazing human being, despite his hemiparesis and closed brain injury, he is one of the 2% who made it out of the wheel chair and is always ready to improve upon himself.

    Our days somewhat evolve around making the best of what life is offering one day at a time... Some days it works better than others... That's called life! ;-) I am 5ft and 110 lbs and Seth's ability to help physically is limited. So a strong set of hands can really make a difference for us!

    We live in a small village, on a quiet street, 10 minutes to town. Safeway, Walmart (not that I'm a Walmart fan but that's what we got ;-), Ace, Benson Lumber, the local hardware store, and Tractor Supply is there... We buy our food at Natural Grocers in Tucson - whatever we don't produce ourselves, and chocolate! One MUST have chocolate!

    There are amazing sights to visit in this area including the Kartchner Caverns, Chiricahua Mountains (National Monument), Cochise Stronghold and plenty other natural wonders, plus the towns of Tombstone and Bisbee are worth a visit.

    I believe that there is a solution to every problem, and we can always figure things out as long as we communicate. The farm is our heaven and sanctuary and I want to keep it that way.

    If you are looking for a positive, kind, caring environment with the possibility to learn and grow around gardening, landscaping, permaculture and horses, and running and maintaining an old farm with horses and our homestead... come join us!

    During COVID 19, we practice social distancing and we wear our masks when we go to town. Please do the same to keep us all safe. If you feel you do not need to wear a mask in town, please do not apply. Also, please do not arrive if you feel not well and show any symptoms of sickness.

    You have your own space, kitchen and bathroom included. There is a bedroom with 4 beds, bunk style. We only accept one person at a time or people who have already quarantined together. I'm happy to go shopping with you so we can buy food you like and that agrees with you! To practice social distancing, we suggest that you prepare your own meals.

    If you have a valid driver's license and you are a responsible driver, we're happy to share our car which is a stick shift Subaru Outback.

    We prefer a stay of at least 2 weeks and up to 4 weeks. Please ask if this doesn't fit your schedule and we can see what we can do. Projects are gardening, house maintenance and repair, general upkeep and horse chores.

    I've been a workaday host for several years. The farm is our nest and sanctuary. And we are happy to share this little paradise with you! I'm a German in the US, and I'm an Artist at heart. I like things organized, clean, orderly and flowing - with a splash of ingenuity and plenty of flexibility because that's what we need to make life work.

    I value good work ethics, commitment, reliability and honesty. Working together with harmony and fun requires good communication and planning.

    It is important to me to set clear goals, agree on individual tasks with focus and commitment, communicate along the way and find solutions to any issues that arise so we all can have a good time. Plans are made and sometimes have to be adjusted due to my work schedule and how we live life. Flexibility is necessary so things can keep flowing.

    Our farm is a special place, and we would love to share it with you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am German and I live in the US. Leaving my home country to start from scratch has offered me unique life experiences. Both Seth and I had unique life experiences that have given us a new take on life. If you are interested in organic gardening, regenerative farming, home maintenance and renovation, practicing German and English... We're happy to share!

    I am currently attending a MasterClass with Erik Ohlsen from Permaculture Skills Center. I am excited to share my newly found knowledge and would love to brainstorm to implement those ideas on the farm with like-minded workaways!

  • Ayuda


    Strong helping hands around the garden, landscaping, DIY, repair and building projects and permaculture design will help us the most. Helping with feeding the animals will free up some office time for me... <3

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    Our guest cottage is self sufficient with kitchen, 3/4 bathroom and bunk bedroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in a rural area. Safeway is a 15 minute drive. I am happy to help with transportation as we go to town quite often. If you're a good driver, I wouldn't mind you using our stick shfit car with a valid driver's license when it's available.

    The Kartchner Caverns, Tombstone, Bisbee, Cochise Stronghold and Chiricahua National Monument are close by and worth visiting. Many, many hiking trails are a short drive way. Tuscon is about an hour from here with many attractions.

    The Amtrak stops in town.

    This Farm is our sanctuary, and we are happy to welcome guests. Please keep our space clean, leave it as you found it and respect our belongings. Please stick with what we agreed on - and if things change or you have a suggestion for improvement, please communicate prior to putting things in action. Please ASK if you are unsure, don't make assumptions!

    Open, clear communication is vital to getting along well and to have a great experience for host and workaway. If something doesn't work for you, please tell us, and together we can search for a solution that will benefit all involved. Honesty, clarity and integrity are a vital part of a successful visit!

    I am happy to provide references from people who have previously stayed at my farm since not everybody leaves feedback here on the site.

    PS: Sorry... No smoking of any kind on the property. Please enjoy alcohol responsibly.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have great internet access (Mega Blast). I work online from home.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can accommodate the size of a 3 horse gooseneck trailer on our driveway. Water hook up and electric is easily done. Blackwater needs to be emptied either in town or with a caddy which I have. ;-)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 363228999154