Experience bush life on our Queensland cattle property in Australia

Country

Australia

25 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/09/2020

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of 5 (dad, mum + 3 young boys) who own and run two beef cattle farms in southern Queensland, Australia. Between the two farms, we have around 650 cows and their offspring. We love our land and what we do and are very passionate about sustainable agriculture.

    Our boys attend a terrific little school beside our property, with only 22 other children, and need to move away to boarding school when they begin Year 7 (2020 for our eldest son). We're a fun-loving family and spend our spare time (which we seem to have less and less of lately!!) fishing, water skiing, taking the boys to cricket or footy or cooking dinner on an open fire by a dam or river. Sadly, we are currently experiencing drought conditions on both of our properties which unfortunately makes life a lot more stressful.

    Our location is around 1 and a half hours drive from our closest regional township. Our home property is beautiful, (when it rains!) with open grassland, sheer rock ridges and timbered creeks. Our second property is flatter and drier, with 9km of river running through it. We have an abundance of wildlife (including pest species) such as birds, emus, kangaroos, deer, dingoes, goats, fish and all manner of reptiles.

    Depending on your circumstances, preference and length of stay, we have the option for visitors to stay either in our home or in one of our farm cottages.

    It would be lovely to have some fresh, happy faces around each day for a while to help us get on top of jobs we just can't seem to keep up with.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Life on a farm is never dull - you need to be a 'Jack of all trades and master of them too!' I believe that some of the best experiences a traveler can have in Australia are to be had on Aussie farms. Our way of life is so different from those in the cities - both faster and slower in different ways, less constraints and more peaceful. Spending quality time living and working with people on an Australian farm gives you a true insight into Australian agriculture and the challenges and triumphs we experience on a daily basis. We have had a number of international visitors over the past 10 years and still keep in touch with them. They were the kind of people who would give anything a go and they've always maintained that the time they spent on the farm are some of the best memories of their travels.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love to host a single or couple who is/are happy to help out with whatever is going on each day. This could include helping out with the boys, household chores and cooking, spring clean, gardening, building maintenance/painting, working with livestock, constructing fences, poisoning weeds in the paddocks.
    We have a building maintenance and painting project that could be an option for someone with these specific skills.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Various - short stay singles could stay in our home with us if preferred, however our preference is for visitors to have their own space and privacy when needed in one of our farm cottages/homes. These are basically self-contained, air-conditioned and comfortable. We can provide provisions for meals or they can be shared with us or a bit of both - you can help with the grocery shopping on trips to town to make sure you have what you need. Any special dietary requirement would need to be negotiated with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our location is not 'close' to anywhere in particular but also not considered remote. Groceries and supplies are approximately 150km as is public transport. If you have your own vehicle, that's great. If not, we can arrange to collect you from a suitable location as close as possible.

    We need our visitors to be happy and motivated with a 'can do' attitude, willing to pitch in with a smile and some muscle whenever needed. We expect good manners from all members of our family and hope our visitors would show the same. We've loved our time spent with previous travelers and they've invariably left (well longer than their planned departure) with tears and well wishes and promises to keep in touch.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 359349164959