Get a chance to experience the culture, friendliness and safety of Grenada, Eastern Caribbean

Country

Granada

95 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I have a little farm - fruits, veggies, herbs.............

    Had to give up my volunteering with Doctors without borders because of back problems. Trying to get back into my farm to keep me active. Travelling for me is a joy and have travelled to many places in Europe, Africa, Asia and America.
    Now I'm a retired Nurse/Midwife I do miss the interaction with people of different cultures.

    I live alone on a 1.4 acre lot that has many fruit trees which need pruning. The lot is gently sloping with a panoramic view and not far from a lovely beach. Now trying to recycle bottles but not successful in cutting them smoothly

    I sell extra produce from my farm and I am also trying to learn Spanish.

    Canino my dog lives with me. He takes a bit getting used to and is quite protective I also have an adorable cat, Ryka who is loving and fun.

    OK so if you are mature with experience and can do any of the listed tasks you will be welcome

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Maybe a mature creative soul/s who can do any of the above listed. Sorry, I do not have time to teach so experience and initiative are necessary.

    Maybe someone wants to improve English, and help me with Spanish. A chance to experience the culture, friendliness and safety of Grenada. A chance to relax get away from the concrete jungle and reconnect with nature... About 4 - 5 hour working day 5 days a week will be fine. This is a cool place to hang out and feel at peace with the world.

    Please note, only contact me if you are genuinely interested, and can do what you say you can do.
    I have accepted persons who then never follow up. This avoids me turning down persons who are really interested and who need to book early flights
    We will need to communicate before any agreements - find out if you can do what you say you can do. (Why do people say they can do something when they clearly can't?)
    Thank you
    Marguerite

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Need now a mature painter who's not going to drop paint all over the place.
    A maintenance person who can carry out minor repairs: masonry, tidying up of electrics, building a gate and a few odd things.

    Gardening in the tropics is very different from elsewhere... It's labour intensive and remember that you are in the tropics so it can be hot.

    PLEASE NOTE. I DON'T HAVE THE TIME TO TEACH AS THIS PREVENTS ME FROM GETTING ON WITH MY DAILY TASKS.
    I NEED MATURE PEOPLE WITH EXPERIENCE AND INITIATIVE.
    I will add, no young person who is only looking for somewhere nice to stay - sorry, had too many of them.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be in a 2 bed apartment which is fully furnished, with double bed, wardrobe, bedside light, sockets and plugs, Kitchen is fully equipped. Bathroom has washing machine and hot water (solar) in shower, balcony with panoramic views. This bedroom comfortably accommodates a couple.

    The other room stores soap making supplies. A young lady uses this room and, comes about once a month to make soaps but only for a day or two. She will use the kitchen area for soap making. The rooms are bright, airy and very private. They have just been refreshed by my first Workawayers who did a fantastic job!

    I live upstairs. I also run an short term rental. You can have dinner with me, or if you wish to do you own cooking, you have a well equipped kitchen in your apartment to do so. I do not have TV. or A/C. The area is cool and electricity is super expensive on the islands

    You have your space and your free time to do whatever you like. I will advise you on places of interest. You can join me on beach trips or nights out if you like.

    The garden has many fruits - about 15 varieties so healthy eating is good here. I grow my own herbs and veggies. I do some vegetarian meals - most of the supplies come from my garden! If you need speciality items for diet or health reasons you will have to bring those. Apart from garden stuff everything is imported on the island so food can be expensive. You will have to contribute to your meals
    You will have to take care of yourselves as I do not have a maid.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There's a good bus service but it ends about 7 p.m. The beach is nearby - 5 mins on the bus, there are waterfalls and other beaches not far, if you like hiking this is a good place.
    If you want to reconnect with nature this is the place. Ideally located to get around the island. I live a quiet life. I go to the beach, or try to go at least 2 times a week but you can go every day. I work in the mornings mainly in the garden for about 4 hours and then indoors. Then restart in the garden when it's cooler - about 5 p.m. for another 2 hours or less.

    Please note, from recent experience, I've come to realize that most youngster are only interested in somewhere nice to stay - spend a lot of time on their phones and have no idea what they are to do. If you know that you are addicted to your phone, please don't contact me. The last Workaways even brought a friend from the USA for a free holiday!!;!
    Let's be fair. If you are not pulling your weight, I will have to ask you to leave!

    Thank you

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (3.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.0)

Comunicación: (3.0)




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 357659168163