Learn about organic methods and enjoy a cultural exchange with us in Oliver, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

36 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a certified organic family run farm located in Oliver, BC in the sunny south Okanagan valley. Although we need Workawayers help, we hope for an honest and cultural exchange, and for you to leave with a recommendation for others to come. Our focus is ground crop, so much of the work is the daily grind of weeding, pruning, harvesting etc., however we have many on going projects, and will endeavor to give you a diverse and interesting experience. Lose to lakes and hiking there is a lot to do on your days off. 30 min north is Penticton, with Skaha Bluffs for avid rockclimbers, and to the south is the town of Osoyoos boasting Canada's warmest lake. I farm to sustain myself and my kids, and I love what I do. All this to say- it is hectic keeping it all going. The decision to receive volunteers the first time in 2017 was taken in an attempt to strike some balance. Over the last three seasons I haven't ever regretted it.

    The exchange, the friendship the conversations over dinner have been a lot of fun. Farming is a lifestyle that is enhanced when it is shared. This wouldn't be the farm it is today without the volunteers who have helped build it.

    The farm focus for 2022 is to keep going, and to be sustainable both economically and environmentally. The household focus is to be as self sufficient as possible, but in a modern and reasonable sense. I'm not looking to live on a farm from the 1800s, but to create a modern farm that embraces some of the technics from the past and also employs modern technics to create a more responsible model. I don't ever know how organized things will be, and if I will have the time to mentor people on the side projects, (like our essential oil still and metal forge) but you are welcome to teach yourself and use the tools. If you are interested in farming, I am happy to teach you whatever I can, from how to set up irrigation to how I balance the soil, and if you have questions just ask. I love to cook, and always enjoy woofers/workawayers who share that passion. If you have read this far you are a patient and passionate person and I think you might be a good fit. Please get in touch. Mike and Anja

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In return I try to include workawayers in what is going on in the community and teach them whatever I can about my interests. Every year I take whoever is on the farm to the Keremeos Rodeo, and once a month we go to the Cawston Hall for the local talent show and music. Its a lot of fun. For workawayers who don't know Canada, it's something different and hopefully enriching.

    Learn about organic/biological methods used on my property:
    No till. Stale seed bed. Flame weed. Straw, Fabric and Plastic Mulch. Composting. Biological Predator Control. Heirloom production. Rare breed. Companion Planting.

    Methodologies:
    Biological pest control, Composting, Crop rotation, Mulching, No-Till Agriculture, Pastured Poultry
    Practices:
    bread making, CSA (community supported agriculture), culinary herbs, fermentation of foods, gardens, vegetable, greenhouse, machine & equipment mechanics, seed saving

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Types of Help:
    Animal Care, Construction projects, Drying, Egg gathering, Farm Tasks, general, Kitchen help, Landscaping, Maintenance, general

    Current projects:
    May: Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Harvest, Building Dehydrator, Setting up prep room. Breaking Pasture for culture.

    June: Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Tomato Pruning, Harvest, Breaking Pasture pasture for culture. Chickens

    July: Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Tomato Pruning, Harvest, Start Greenhouse build. Canning. Chickens

    August: Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Tomato Pruning, Harvest, Greenhouse build. Canning. Chickens

    September:Transplanting, Seeding, Weeding, Tomato Pruning, Harvest, Pull finished crop. Canning. Chickens

    October: Harvest, Pull finished crops. Blow out irrigation. Dig winter drainage. Chickens

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Holiday Camper/Trailer/Caravan

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours/day,5days/week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 348328683133