actualizado  

Help needed for projects in Cockatoo, close to Melbourne, Vic., Australia

  • 339 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 15 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi!

    to our surprise, we will need someone to be here in JUNE!!! , Mainly to house sit... as ou the guy who would come today has just canceled. while we are waiting for him with dinner.

    so- there will be a week of getting to know the place- then we have to leave for a family visit overseas- and you will have our dogs, indoor birds, cosy fire place to yourself :-)

    Horses will be fed and monitored by a friend in the morning- but will need their evening dinner given (through the fence)
    Please contact me ASAP as it's stressful to leave a farm behind- even more so if your sitter cancels late minute.

    Anyone with lots of HORSE experience that is interested??

    No need to do work while sitting obviously. :-)

    We prefer you to have some experience with tools, but for upcoming jobs this is not essential.

    It would be great to have some people on the ground to help with cutting up the trees, and putting branches in the mulcher.
    There is also lots of weeding to be done, cutting some small bushes, and brush cutting.

    We have a caravan that we are doing up- one of our helpers has brought it a lot further along- but now it still needs; some wood work/ CARPENTRY, mainly to clad the outside, and maybe build a roof over it :-)
    Build a bathroom in a cubby house,
    Build a second bedroom in a shed...

    These could be a very fun project for some handy people ! and- it will be where you sleep a lot of the time ( the guesthouse is available when its not booked out. )

    For some these we are hoping for Tool handling experience. We don't have time to teach from scratch- but if you are handy, you will learn a lot of skills- depending on length of stay :-) .

    There is also animal care ( we have 3 dogs, 3 horses, no pigs, lots of chickens , indoor birds, ... I think that is it, but it varies from week to week) , FENCING, CONSTRUCTION of a little shed, LANDSCAPING, shovelling and gardening, etc etc. (and as always, joint cooking, chatting,, swimming in nice weather, and horse care, . etc etc) We don't want you to do the same for days on end- it gets very boring... This is why we vary jobs.

    We like to share stories, jokes, and thoughts about the deeper meaning of life- accompanied by a glass of beer or wine, or not- and also sometimes need some family time. We like to talk about what works well for you and us.

    Because of our personal approach -
    NO AI GENERATED MESSAGES!!! YOU WILL GET AN AUTOMATIC NO- OR AN EXPLANATION WHY I DON'T LIKE THE BUZZ WORDS, ( and apparently this is rude - I think it's rude if you can't be bothered to write anything yourself...)

    Reasonable ENGLISH is NECESSARY to improve your and our experience . This is why we love to talk on the phone before you come- and also because it is just so much faster then endless emailing. So - after your first message I will probably want to speak to you.

    We expect you to have appropriate insurance.
    If you email us; tell us about your skills. Its nice to know what you want, BUT its easier for us to know what you can do around here :-) Always include a PHONE NUMBER, as this makes contact so much easier and faster. Whatsapp is fine.

    Hope to see you soon!!!

    Vegetarians can try to convince us that it is a good life style ( but it won’t be easy!!) , NO vegans.

    We are Dutchies, We both work at home; outside, and we both have a workshop- Arthur ( mechanical design engineer) works with wood, Aukje (sculptor) with clay , both with metal, and of course; we ride our horses. There will be plenty of time to work together, or learn things. We are both very practical people. - But also busy with a million things!

    Help will be erratic hours - we make long days ourselves- with (long) coffee and lunchbreaks with lovely food, and stay in a separate guesthouse or caravan as soon as its done-- We don't see help in the kitchen as work, but as a joint experience. (and necessary to keep the place running)
    We eat meat which is homegrown and healthy, but maybe you can convince us of a vegetarian diet by cooking for us :-) No vegans, sorry. LGBTI+ welcome, as is neurodivergence.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have dinner together 5 nights a week, and most helpers feel they become are part of our family. As immigrants we have our own view on Australia, and have learnt a lot through the years.
    Because we come from Europe, we also understand more about the culture you (often) come from- and for example, don't think french backpackers are rude. (apparently this myth is going around) We have also traveled all of Australia- so know a lot of areas.
    You can learn plenty of skills here, depending on how busy we are, but a lot of our helpers go away with something they take to a paid job- and I am writing plenty of references for people after they have left when they apply to paid jobs !

    We seem to have a knack to give life advice, and help figure out what it is people are looking for :-)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help required varies, as our project are always varying- we can't plan very well, as things come up, change, are re-thought, influenced by weather, etc. In general there is weeding, brush cutting, horse, dog, chicken and/or duck care, building, tree chopping, planting, fencing, playing with kids, swimming, trampoline jumping, bushwalking, cooking and baking etc etc.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We love people who are interested and/or take initiative - we are open to a lot- if you talk about your plans first :-)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We love good food- if you can cook or bake, we love to give you a chance to show us!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We generally work 5 ( or more if you want) days a week- depending on what comes up. Sunday is always off, and we will often take you somewhere that is cool - depending on our schedule as well. (horseriding is fun, but takes up a lot of time :-) )
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ this place is in a beautiful area, with national parks, and tiny towns close by. We have a few bicycles to use- or can bring you to the bus if needed. You can also walk out straight from our property.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ we will try to show you the area in the weekend or after work! sometimes life gets too busy though :-(

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️If you don't like animals- there is NO reason to be here.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ phone reception its very good here. Internet is only at our house- so limited to roughly 30 minutes per day, as you will be sitting in our living room. There is an "internet cafe" outside- for longer sessions when really needed.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We provide 1-2 beers or glasses of wine after work/ during dinner. If you like more, you are welcome to bring your own. within reason.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Most people rave about the food, we like to cook! we like to eat food that is cooked for me too :-) (cleaning not so much- so we do that together)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our place (in Cockatoo) is in Victoria's most beautiful area's, with main attractions like large national state park (s!) close by, old steam train (puffing billy) , Yarra valley wineries very close (by car) and many other attractions. so a bit of everything. Most people hang around our house though as it is so tranquil here, and go for a walk in our own bush. _ or go for a bike ride :-) (bikes provided)

    We have had 160 helpers so far- so we're quite experienced in having people here, and explaining work etc etc. it means we can be reasonably clear to you, but if there would be questions, we are happy to answer them. We try to go out in the weekends, if we can, and show you some of the surrounds. We do have lots of activities in the weekends so this is not always possible. Happy to transport you to bus though!

    We do drink alcohol, and love sharing a beer after work, and a glass of wine at dinner. After that its up to you!
    we don't love smoke nor cigarette butts anywhere- except for in our bin.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have good internet connection- in the cottage and in the house- so times may need to be discussed.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    plenty of space!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    depending on- contact us.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 321576839765

Comentarios (7)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Help with minding my son and some garden projects while you enjoy the ocean in Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
Gardening and help on our hobby farm in Koah, QLD, Australia