actualizado  

Help us on our unique property in Karangahake Gorge, New Zealand

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    THE PLACE
    We own a stunning 1.5-hectare property nestled in the hills above a river in the heart of the picturesque Karangahake Gorge. The area is recognised as a National Heritage Site because of its rich gold mining history and natural beauty, and is very popular with both New Zealanders and international tourists. Just a short 3-minute walk from our doorstep, there are numerous walking trails and cycling paths to explore.

    On our arrival in December 2021, the property was in a state of neglect and disrepair. Our large multi-generational family of seven has been working hard to restore the property, with the help of many wonderful Workawayers.
    Our future vision is to cultivate the gardens and enhance the house to a level where they could be showcased in the local annual Garden Festival, and possibly serve as an unique wedding venue.

    Karangahake Gorge is situated between Waihi (15 minutes away) and Paeroa (7 minutes). Both towns have plenty of shops and cafes to visit, and also bus stops for getting to us or heading off on more travel.

    THE PEOPLE
    Our family comprises my parents, aunt, husband, two teenage daughters, and myself, along with our beloved pets. We live in separate houses and lead independent lives, while we share the lifestyle property.

    Our days are mostly spent outdoors, tending to the property, caring for our animals, and enjoying the picturesque surroundings.

    Health is a priority for all of us, without being overly strict; none of us smoke, and we appreciate the occasional glass of wine. Sleep is important to us after our busy days, so we expect that guests respect our quiet hours from 10 pm to 6 am.

    THE PETS
    Piper the dog; Ollie, Daisy and Gil the cats, Echo the magpie (tame wild bird), Wilma and Betty the goats, 12 chickens and 3 ducks.

    WHAT WE DO
    My retired parents and Aunt stay active by working outdoors. Aunt Jeanette excels in gardening, especially propagation; Dad Leon is a skilled inventor and fixer, while Mum Judith is talented in decorating, vegetable gardening, and singing.

    In the mornings, I work in the office at an organic fertilizer company and am currently delving into digital marketing, a field I really enjoy. Also, I manage a busy BnB on our property. With 20 years of experience in the veterinary industry, I prioritize caring for our animals, which comes in handy for any first aid needs of our pets and people.

    My husband Craig runs a military flight simulator and aviation themed restaurant/bar business in nearby Thames, where he dedicates most of his time. A former NZ Air Force member with a passion for aviation, he used to pilot his own planes and also loves playing golf.

    Our daughters, Eliza (19) and Brydie (16), do online learning from home and stay active with friends and their jobs. Eliza is learning ecommerce and is very creative, while Brydie, who loves the outdoors, is doing a 3-year Youth Search and Rescue course and also works in our business.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a happy, close knit Kiwi family spanning three generations, living in a small Kiwi community. Anyone staying with us would be immersed in typical New Zealand family culture and Kiwi humour.

    We enjoy showing travellers what our beautiful region has to offer, and you would also be able to visit our business in Thames and try our flight simulators and food.

    We have WW2 Polish refugee family heritage. Not many people are aware of the story of the 1.7 million Poles who were deported to Siberian labour camps, and the thousands of Polish children who were orphaned due to this. We are happy to share our family's story with those who are interested.

    We grow our own vegetables, keep free range chickens and ducks for eggs, and try to grow our food as organically as possible. We've also planted over thirty fruit trees in our new orchard and our animals are an important part of our family.

    The Karangahake Gorge area where we live is a national heritage site. We take great interest in the local history, especially the lives of the people who lived in our area and the impact they had on the land.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I really need someone to help me with my day to day chores, so that I have time to focus on our business in preparation for the busy summer season. There may also be the occasion that other family members will need help with projects on the property.

    THE IDEAL PERSON WILL ...
    - Be motivated and work efficiently
    - Show initiative and be able to work without direction
    - Enjoy cleaning and organising
    - Be confident around, and love animals
    - Be willing to learn new things
    - Have a great sense of humour
    - Have a happy disposition and engage easily in conversation
    - Be willing to ask questions if they need to.

    THE WORK
    Regular Chores...
    - Washing, drying and folding laundry
    - Keeping the kitchen clean and tidy
    - Helping prepare and cook evening meals
    - Bringing in firewood and lighting the fire
    - Vacuuming and mopping floors
    - Feeding and caring for the animals
    - Other general cleaning and tidying

    Other Work...
    - Weeding and tidying the garden
    - Gardening & landscaping

    Having experience with rural life and/or physical work would be an advantage.
    Mature travellers with some life experience and the ability to work unsupervised would fit into our family the best.

    We are unable to cater to any special dietary needs, including vegan.

    PLEASE NOTE: During Spring and Summer (September to February) we need strong, capable people to help with heavier work such as preparing firewood for winter, building projects and repairs, landscaping, etc. This would suit a couple who can both help with work around the house, and the heavier jobs outside.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in a sleepout room that shares a large patio with my parents house. There is a queen bed, chairs, dressing table, TV, microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle and outdoor table and chairs.

    You would share a bathroom and kitchen in our house, which is a very short walk next door.

    We usually cook an evening meal however sometimes we do DIY dinners when we all make our own dinner when we want it. We are unable to cater to any special dietary needs sorry.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Karangahake Gorge is a spectacular area with rivers for swimming, beautiful walking tracks along the old mine trails and through the tunnels, and many areas with ruins from the historic gold mining industry. There is native bush on and surrounding the property with many native birds and insects, including NZ glow worms. Our property has its own private access to the local walking tracks.

    Near the gorge are other nature trails and the Hauraki Rail Cycle Trail. We have mountain bikes you can borrow to explore these trails.

    Waihi Beach is 25 minutes away for surfing and swimming.

    Regional towns Paeroa (7 minutes drive) and Waihi (13 minutes drive) have a good selection of shops and cafes. There are other nearby country towns that are lovely to visit too.

    We are a central location for those wanting to travel further to the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula, volcanic Rotorua, Hobbiton in Matamata and Hamilton City. Auckland is only 1.5 hours away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have satellite WIFI and areas for laptop use.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have carpark that can accommodate up to a medium sized camper.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 317636729134

Comentarios (1)

Fotos

Comentarios


Come and stay with our family of 5 on our lifestyle block in the leafy suburb of Te Horo, New Zealand
Help looking after friendly alpacas, pet sheep, dogs, ducks and much more in Whangarei, New Zealand