Picking olives and learn to preserve food in Calabria, Italy

Country

Italia

141 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This is Simone, first son/nephew of a humble family from Calabria region, living in a small village situated in a hill, with a few pieces of land with more than 200 olive trees, many different fruit trees, few chickens and two small vegetable garden areas.
    The valley in front of the house, almost buildings-free, faces the sea (20 mins driving distance away).
    When the time of the year comes (around October) dad and grampa need to pick all the olives, to make mainly olive oil, but we also like making preserving olives to eat in different styles, as well as medical oils using powerful local flowers.
    We also make red wine in September and It should be soon ready to taste :)
    We will proudly feed you with our amazing tasty food :)

    Foods to harvest in these upcoming months:
    Pomegranates
    Figs
    Grapes
    Almonds
    Walnuts

    I am also looking for strong people to help me build a small house in a magical place by the Olive trees, and other " dirty kind of type" of farm chores.

    Travellers knowledgeable and with previous experiences in the application of PERMACULTURE principles are very welcome

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am very passionate about hethy living and eating. I practice and teach yoga, breathing exercises and meditation.
    Of course you will learn a lot about olive trees and olives, how to transform olives into olive oil, and how's the life of a real south Italian farmer :)
    You can also be introduced to everyday gardening: organic vegetable, beans, roots and also flowers. And, last but not least, you will learn about organic wine production, and how to enjoy it with a good meal.
    This experience will definetly enrich you in many ways: powerful connection to nature and getting your food straight from the soil or picking it from the tree, just to mention a few...
    So be prepapered for beatiful adventure, full of daily mouth orgasms :-D That's the natural consequence of eating REAL FOOD.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    HELP NEEDED AT THE MOMENT:

    * Harvesting and preserving food from Sept till end Oct
    * Building a STONE HOUSE and other similar projects
    * Harvesting olives in October
    * planting Lots of beans and making a proper winter veggie garden

    Experience is required
    --------------
    DURING OLIVE SEASON (October):
    The help required is simple: getting the olives down the trees (or picking them from the ground), and take them to the oil mill...
    Big nets should be accomodated on the ground sorrounding the trees, the branches shaked with a special machine but also using normal long sticks, and the olives are to be collected inside 15-20kg sacks, then each sack carried and loaded on the car.
    It is a tiring job, rewarding, but very tiring, especially if not used to work in the field...

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    Italian: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    In Simeri Crichi:
    We have a couple of spare rooms to offer, in the nice fully equipped apartment, with sea view.
    Bathrooms and common areas are shared.
    Food and drinks are obviously included: breakfast, lunch and dinner :)

    In Castrovillari:
    It's a lovely small ecovillage in the farm, without much electricity and surrounded by nature.
    Lovely people living there practicing a self-sufficient life style since years.
    Sofas or camping are available, and the toilet is fully ecological 😁

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are very close to the coast, but also to one of the most beautiful mountain of the region: Sila piccola.
    My friendly family will be happy to taking you around whenever possible :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 25 hours / week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 313833229989