This is a lovely property to stay, a river to swim in and eucalyptus forests to explore. Koah, Australia

Country

Australia

106 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/07/2020

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have a beautiful 80 acre farm on the banks of a lovely river. We are currently focusing on moving from ‘self-sufficient’ to hopefully making the farm into more of a business (while also maintaining our organic, regenerative ethics). We have a big vegetable garden, fruit trees and an amazing river that is good for swimming (no crocs). We are in the beginning of adding a 5 acre syntropic orchard, a small perennial market garden, a commercial greenhouse and a small cash-crop of vanilla. If these projects interest you, please get in touch!

    Our daughters are 2.5years old, and 4 months old. They are lovely, grounded girls, however combining two kids with a busy farm and animals is sometimes chaos! Marc’s dad lives in a converted barn on the farm, and speaks German (and English). We have several dairy goats, a small herd of dairy/miniature beef cattle, 3 untrained horses, 4 dogs, and chickens, ducks and geese.

    We are looking for people to help with the day-to-day running of the farm (care of animals, tending to the garden etc), as well as to help push forward the multiple projects we are aiming to achieve in 2019. In return we offer a safe, private and comfortable self-contained cottage, a lovely property with a river and eucalyptus forests to explore.

    We can share knowledge about farming organically, permaculture, regenerative agriculture, archery, photography, fire-twirling, juggling, gardening, bushtucker and bush-craft and animal care.

    Generally we enjoy a shared, yummy dinner, usually provided from the farm’s produce. We do butcher our own animals and use our own eggs and dairy (when we can) so this position would not suit a vegan (we can easily make accommodation for vegetarians).

    The position would suit someone prepared to contribute 4 or 5 hours of work a day (sometimes a little more, sometimes a little less) and who is honest and reliable. We expect anyone who stays to tell us if you feel like a job is unsafe because you don't have the right equipment or training or you don't understand what we have asked... we need to know so we can fix it! We require someone who will treat our family, land and animals with respect and gentleness, and someone who will enjoy the work. We will do the same in return :)

    Having a car will help if you want to come in and out a lot. We are not anywhere near a bus stop. We go to either Cairns or Mareeba at least once a week, but the rest of the time you will probably have to amuse yourself hanging out at the dam, the forest, the river or working around in the gardens etc.

    Please remember that clear communication will make this easier for both of us... if something is important to you, or if you have an idea of how we could be doing something better, just let us know with a smile on your face, and we'll usually be happy to talk about it. We have a lot of projects on the go, so its pretty busy here, but it is also paradise :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are knowledgeable in gardening, animal care, permaculture, bushcraft and survival and native animals and plants. We are happy to teach some of these skills and try to help with English skills in exchange for help around the farm and home.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The next project is erecting quite a lot of electric fencing and doing some major work (planting, soil building, mulching, weeding) in the garden. Also daily animal care and odd jobs around the farm, such as paving, irrigation etc. We may occasionally ask for help around the home - preparing meals, specific cleaning tasks etc. However by far the majority of the help will be outside jobs around the farm.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Japonés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Self contained cottage with your own bedroom, kitchen, toilet and veranda. Shared bathroom (with hosts).

    We eat dinner together every night, which I will generally cook. However if cooking is something you enjoy then we would love you to cook a meal or two from your home. Breakfast and lunch we usually have separately as our schedule and diets don't always align. This also gives us some 'family time' with our daughters. However we will of course provide the food for all of your meals. We will ask for a shopping list for your breakfast and lunch ingredients and purchase them for you.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Kuranda is a very beautiful and interesting town close by. There are many amazing swimming and hiking trails close by, however you will need your own transport as public transport is very limited. We can probably arrange lifts and some tours in your days off, however it is dependant on our scedual :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 297735321493