Family welcome help with sorting out our olive grove in a mountain village of Galilea in southwest of Mallorca, Spain

Country

España

284 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    02/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    97.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello,

    We are a family of 4: Emma (British), Eladio (Spanish), Emelie (10 years old) and Elia (6). We live in the beautiful mountain village of Galilea in the southwest of Mallorca. It's a very quiet, peaceful location with spectacular views down to the sea and offers complete tranquillity for nature lovers. Palma, the capital is only a 25 minute drive away, as are the beaches of the southwest coast. The village has a couple of bars and a pizza restaurant, there is also public transport to Palma but it is not especially frequent. This is a place especially suited to nature lovers. Hikers and keen cyclists (who don't mind serious hills) will love it but those wanting a great social life will find it a bit boring!
    Our house is a traditional stone cottage of over 100 years old with a lovely olive grove where you can see enormous, centuries old olive trees. It was abandoned for around 30 years and we are slowly getting it back into shape. Many of the drystone walls have collapsed so they need repairing and the land is completely overgrown so we are doing a lot of pruning and cutting down of trees to get to the old olives trees.
    We run a small bed and breakfast and hope in the future to be able to produce our own olives, honey, fruit and vegetables but we need a lot of help before we can get to that stage!
    We are looking for volunteers who can help us during the autumn, winter and early spring primarily with work on the land, cooking, cleaning and possibly a bit of childcare. We offer independent accommodation, self service breakfast (we'll supply cereals, milk and general breakfast things), and a cooked lunch and light dinner with us in our house with shared cooking and clearing up duties. On your days off lunch and dinner will not be supplied.
    It might be a nice project for friends - the rooms can be made into twin rooms. It could also be good for a couple. The work is more often than not very physical so be prepared for a workout!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We really love sharing our home and experiences with our volunteers and for us, the fun of having volunteers is sharing their stories and experiences too. We try to integrate everyone into our family and love participating in the work with our volunteers. We hope we can pass on our knowledge about life in Mallorca and about all the many things we have learnt from living here. Although not experts, we can share our skills on dry stone walling and other traditional mallorcan agricultural skills such as pruning trees or harvesting. We know a lot of history about the place and can recommend plenty of things for you to do on days off. We can also help with learning a bit of Spanish or English. All of this we like to combine with a relaxed and fun attitude which will hopefully leave you feeling like you've had an amazing experience.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We'd like people to come for around a week or two.
    What we really need help with is the olive grove, possibly building tasks, cooking and childcare. The gardening is quite hard manual work involving dry stone walling, pruning trees, strimming the land and burning. You may need to lift heavy stones, dig, move around wheelbarrows of soil and stones - it's not work for the weak and feeble!!! It is however quite satisfying.Help is also needed with cooking and cleaning up and entertaining the girls after school.
    If the weather is bad there are always other things that can be done - we also restore furniture and you can help us out with that. You could also give us a hand with some bits of DIY- here there will always be something to keep you occupied!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The accommodation is in our bed and breakfast rooms which are spacious and comfortable. They are en suite and have internet access, fridge, air conditioning/heating and coffee making facilities. There is no kitchen or television, so bring your own entertainment for the evenings! We have two rooms which can be made into twins and each one has its own independent terrace area. If friends come you will be in a twin room. We expect you to keep the room clean and also to help us with cooking and cleaning up after eating.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    It is very quiet here and transport is not the best. There are buses to Palma everyday but they are quite limited (4/ day monday - friday and 2/day at the weekend). It costs around 4.50 single. A lot of people hitch hike down to Palma and it's pretty easy to get people to pick you up. We also go out quite frequently and are happy to take you somewhere on your days off. We have a mountain bike you can use but as I said, it's not easy cycling here. If you are feeling rich, the best option is to rent a car and at this time of year it's actually pretty cheap. This will give you the freedom to explore the beautiful island and it is well worth the effort. If you prefer to stay around Galilea there are a few lovely hikes. The village also has a couple of bar/restaurants if you prefer to just hang out and you are of course more than welcome to just chill out here!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 293295825535