Help us care for our equine family in Normandy, France

Country

Francia

328 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    21  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi! We are Erica and friends Sarah and David. We are very lucky to have a beautiful farm in a picturesque part of south west Normandy, which we share with a herd of eleven rare Rocky Mountain horses. The farm is less than one kilometre from the village of Ger, and comprises ten hectares of undulating pasture and woodland and three large ponds - two with carp and one for swimming. Erica moved from England to France in 2017 with her horses, and Sarah and David later joined her. They are currently based in the UK again but very much attached to our place. We all agree that the farm, with its abundant natural life and peaceful hidden valley, has a special healing magic. With the help of our Belgian friends Kris and Elisabeth we host groups who come for retreats with horses. We have hosted many helpers from around the world, both here and in our previous life in England, and love to share our farm and get to know such a wonderful variety of people.

    As Erica is managing on her own for much of the year, we are needing help from mature people (preferably over 20) who love horses and nature to help with horse care, work on the land and house cleaning. The horses are all individual characters and love to be with people. They are kept out at pasture in a natural herd, with access to shelter if they need it, and are ridden mainly western style, without shoes or bits, using Natural Horsemanship techniques.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are all warm and friendly and love getting to know our guests and helping them to feel at home here. Erica is very passionate and knowledgeable about horses, and many other subjects too. Kris and Elisabeth visit regularly - Kris can teach you various farm skills. David is a Craniosacral therapist and Reiki healer, and when he is here he is happy to give visitors a taste of his healing if desired. Particularly during the summer there are various interesting visitors staying here who come to enjoy the land and the horses.

    There are many things to enjoy, including spending quiet time in the beautiful valley and woodland, swimming (in the summer, unless you are very brave!) feeding the carp, sharing conversation around a cosy woodburning stove on winter evenings or a hillside fire in the summer - and, of course, getting to know the horses.

    Erica will spend time with you as you familiarise yourself with the horses, and although she is not a qualified riding teacher she may be willing to help with some beginner’s riding, or if you are experienced she may be able to take you on rides out (please note that for various reasons we can’t guarantee that it will always be possible to ride).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main help we need is maintenance and improvement of our gardens and land (clearing tough weeds to improve the pasture), and regular mucking out of the shelter and paddocks. In the winter there is additional muck clearing and feeding the horses. If you are an experienced rider, exercising our riding horses is a possibility. In addition to our reliable older horses, we have four young horses who are getting used to being ridden, and would especially like to hear from people with some experience of bringing on young horses

    We prefer helpers who are mature in experience and attitude and able to take initiative, work independently and happily spend some time on their own. You will need to be physically fit and happy to work outside even if the weather is not perfect (and not afraid of some mud in the winter). Experience with driving a quad bike or tractor and using a large brush cutter would be appreciated.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Most volunteers stay with Erica in her house, sharing her kitchen. She is happy to share meals but expects you to be able to prepare your own food some of the time, and to join in with washing up and cleaning the house. Sometimes in the summer accommodation is in a comfortable caravan with easy access to kitchen and bathroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We can collect helpers from the station in Flers (about half an hour away). There are regular trains from Paris, which is 2-3 hours away. There are also buses and trains to Flers from Caen ferry port.

    We can take you for visits to nearby places (mediaeval Domfront is worth visiting) and there is good walking and riding (for experienced riders) in the surrounding countryside. Please note that there is no public transport apart from the Flers train station which is half an hour's drive away - so if you come without your own vehicle you will need to be content to spend most of your time enjoying the beautiful local surroundings (we have a bicycle).

    Covid safety - we may ask for proof of vaccination or a recent negative test. We are all fully vaccinated.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is a parking space near Erica’s house with easy access to electricity, shower room and kitchen.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 289997876541