Learn to paraglide, help with restoration and creative projects in Gabrje, Slovenia




396 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    91.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción


    I will be on holiday..please only message for 2022

    Hi my name is Andrew and I'm building a lodge for Artists ,nature lovers,walkers,paragliders, yoga and meditation retreats.
    Personally have found vapassna mediation a great help and inspiring.

    My house is in the heart off the Soca valley it's a world class location for paragliding,walking, climbing,kayaking ,fishing basically anything out doors, and the land scape is stunning. This is why I have settled here. The house was built in 1921 and old house in 1865.
    The garden is already planted up for this season. The river is at the bottom off the road and the mountains are right behind the house so just walk straight out off the house.
    I have a number off pilots coming to help me fix the house up and spare equipment so you will get hands on handling of a paraglider if you want and loads off advice. ground handling is the first step to learn how to fly... (Then you need to take a course) To get lisense and a full training..
    The reason I am fixing up this house is because the land scape is stunning I truly have travelled the world and have found my place. The house is old and has so much to offer. I am a creative maker designer artist. I have a lovely garden which is full of fruit and veg when in season. I have one lady who is in charge off the garden and cooking, she loves to bake and is the house keeper. The idea is to create an amazing space for people to relaxing in and be creative.(But first we have to fix the place up)
    One day it will be possible to do art projects to restoring furniture or boats or classic cars all these things will be on the go, so possible to learn a wide range off skills. I always have a studio workshop on site.(this is also needs setting up) The garden is already up and running.. The house is nice but will be amazing when we finish it. First I need help painting and decorating the inside and outside and other little jobs. I will pass on all the skills I have and knowledge. It's best if you speak English as I am Scottish. Also best if you don't mind to work with your hands and be able to work independently as I am a hard worker and focused on doing things well.
    I really want this place to attract artists to come stay in the 18th century house which i am making into an artist studio .. where artist will come and do work.

    Please come and join us for a lovely summer or autumn or spring.
    Please ask any questions
    Many thanks for looking.

    This first summer has been amazing with so much help and support. We really figured out lots of things and jobs which needed doing got done. Even supported by the last owner and his daughter.. The owner helped me repaint the windows and gave me so much history about the houses..

    If your lucky one weekend we go to klauidja ex partners mountain hut in the national park to help him out.we leave early Fri morning and arrive back early Sunday..help normal cut the grass chop logs and enjoy what a wonderful place it is...

    What really makes this workaway is the other workaways and klauidja cooking and cakes ...

    We are now wanting to reland scape the garden and will work on the inside of the house when the weather starts to turn... Let's see how and Oct is.

    I really need people with skills so when you message me please let me know what practical skills you have to offer or what you have a basic knowledge in.

    Many thanks Andrew...

    I will rewrite my profile over the next months say thanks to everyone who has helped this summer it was amazing and met many great people..
    Next year my focus will be the garden area.. And planting a food forest in the garden just want to plant trees and climbers that produce fruit at different times over the summer so lots to do with that.
    Working on the garden will be big part off the summer painting the outside off the house hopefully...

    And making nice structures out off drift wood and Boi char for the garden and many more nice things I hope I really want to create a great community..
    Planning fruit forest orchard for first job next year.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am in the heart off the soca valley it is known for its paragliding climbing , walking ,kayaking, fishing and the river and the mountains, you will learn many skills from baking to gardening to diy renovation skills. I am an artist maker and paragliding pilot which is my biggest passion. So u will learn all about flying from just being around me and my friends .

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Gardening, restoring the house, building, making and creating a lovely space..first we paint the house inside and outside. And then start to build structures in the garden.
    I will try and change the jobs so it isn't the same thing all the time. I hope you will take away some skills which will help you through your life.
    If you can video edit please let me know or good with websites ...
    Basically if your good with your hands and good at making let me know also..

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Slovenian,German Spanish

  • Alojamiento


    The house has 4 bedrooms a barn and 3 toilets so you will get a bed in your own room. I have two very cool cave rooms.
    Klavdija my house keeper cooks food for 630 and prepares lunch for around 12.... Breakfast things are left out in the morning.
    She loves to bake do deserts are amazing. She cooks 6 days a week Sunday normaly off. But normaly loads left over...
    After a working there loads to do as situated in an amazing spot.
    Walk from the house to the forest or mountains river is 300 meters away. Jump on a bike and have a cycle I have 3 bikes for you to use.
    I am looking forward to creating an art community and space to create art and design and restore objects..
    Just now we are starting at 7am which mean you finish at noon then we have dinner and your free to do what you like food is then served at 630 pm

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You just need to Google soca valley my house is right beside the river.
    And right beside the paragliding landing field. So with a wing and harness you can start to learn ground handling so maybe one day do a course and you will be one step ahead. Behind the house straight away you can walk up a mountain. And sometime I walk up there and take off. Really nice walks straight from the house the land scape is stunning that's why I'm there.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Possible as I have fast Internet

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Space to park in the orchard garden.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 288153484434