Come and help English pensioners in the vineyard, vegetable plot and some building in Italy, Sardinia

Country

Italia

294 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    24  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    0

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! We are Roger and Wendy and are English pensioners living in Italy, Sardinia, to be precise. After holidaying here for 30 years this is where we decided we wanted to live when we retired. Early in 2003 we sold our home in England and we've been here ever since and it's been a big learning curve for us. We have a small vineyard that produces about 500 to 750 litres of wine per year. It's all made manually with the only machinery being the grape crusher and the grape press. It's mostly organic apart from sulphur that is added to encourage the sugars in the grapes. The busiest time is from February to June. with the grape harvest in mid September. There is a small vegetable plot, also organic. We are also trying to improve the house to make it more habitable. We live in the country about 30 km from one large town that has a major port and an international airport and two smaller towns we are also a similar distance from some glorious beaches. We can accommodate up to two people sharing a room, if you are travelling alone you would not be expected to share the room with others. We have a dog and a cat and are non smokers. As our Internet access is via satellite we are on a limited amount of data and it does sometimes go off at busy times of the day.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Sardinia is a Mediterranean island not very well known to a lot of travellers. The volunteers would be taught how to make wine. We can't offer much in the way of cultural exchange except every weekend in the summer each town has its own festival for its patron saint and visitors are welcome to these affairs. There is local food, music and dancing.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The volunteers we are looking would mostly be required to help in the vineyard and vegetable plot although we might ask for a bit of help with building work. From March to June the work is varied from pruning the vines, though not the most interesting bit, it is the most important part as that dictates how much fruit we'll get. Then it's mostly weeding and tying the vines to the wires and tending the vegetable plot. September would be picking the grapes. by hand, carrying them grapes to the crusher, about 50-150 metres away. feeding the fruit into the crusher and clearing up. A few days later the juice and fruit is put into the press and then into the vats. Unfortunately, the wine you help to make won't be ready for drinking for about five months but there is always the previous year's wine, if it's good enough! You might be be working alone, more likely, one or both of us will be with you. We are not a commercial business we just make wine for friends. So if you are interested in how to make wine, and though we are small the process is the same as the very big wine makers. come and see us.

    Regrettably the land and location is not suitable for children.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We only have a two bedroom bungalow but we can accommodate up to two people sharing, obviously if you are a lone Workawayer, the room would be yours for the duration of your stay. The facilities would have to be shared with us. There is no heating but in Summer it is not usually needed. Food would be provided by us unless the participant wants to try out their culinary skills

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Unfortunately the public transport system is a bit flaky at best but we would be willing to take you to the beaches or towns and leave you there to be picked up later or you can hire a vehicle. If you want to go out in the evening, there is nothing nicer than having a pizza then doing what all Italians do, that is 'passegiata' meaning strolling round the shops in the evening eating an ice cream. We have some English television and live a fairly quiet life. Even though we live in the country and a fair distance from the town we hope that you might find it interesting how to make wine.

    Obviously with Covid restrictions things are likely to change.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (4.8)


















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 283145514328