Help out around rural property (20 acres) at Matheson Bay, Auckland, New Zealand


Nueva Zelanda

121 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Super Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Our volunteer must have good housekeeping/cleaning experience. Practical, farming, and / or gardening skills would be an advantage.
    We own a rural property (20 acres) at Matheson Bay - adjacent to Leigh, just a 10 minute drive from Matakana Village and around an hour’s drive north of Auckland city. It is sunny, elevated and private and enjoys stunning sea views out to Little Barrier and Great Barrier islands to the east and to the south, Whangateau harbour.
    We run a small herd of up to 14 cattle and have our own chooks which means fresh, yummy eggs on a daily basis! We also have a plentiful vegetable garden and a small orchard that we are starting to knock into shape. Our home is sunny, warm and comfortable and our open-plan kitchen / dining / living room opens out to a large deck, swimming pool and outdoor dining area. In summer, we live out here!
    We are two women and welcome all clean living people to our work-away scheme. No drugs or big drinkers please. Leigh is a small coastal village so if you are wanting night clubs and lots of bars etc. then it’s probably not for you. If you love nature, the sea, swimming, surfing, hiking, wine-tasting, coffee, smaller communities etc. then the Matakana coastal region is definitely for you.
    There is a regular bus to/from Auckland to Warkworth which is about 20 minutes away. We would be happy to collect you off the bus and drop you back at the end of your stay. However, because we are located in a rural area and both have busy lives, it would be preferable if you had your own transport so you can come and go as you please.
    We are interested in volunteers during the spring, summer and autumn months (August through to May). In winter (June and July) we don’t have any work available.
    We prefer our helpers to stay a minimum of 2 weeks, but longer if it works well.
    We need help outside with the garden and with general maintenance on the property. Inside, we need a good cleaner to clean the house once a week. An interest or experience in gardening would be an advantage but this is not essential.
    We have both travelled extensively and enjoy meeting new people. We also ran a 5-star luxury lodge in Wanaka for 7 years and hosted travelers from all around the world.

    Type of Help
    • Gardening
    • Collecting & stacking firewood
    • General Repairs & Maintenance
    • Cooking
    • House-keeping
    • Etc.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    3-4 hours help per day, depending on what is needed. Sometimes there is nothing much and other days the full 4 hours are essential.

    Work could be clearing the garden , weeding, mowing lawns, cleaning the house, cleaning windows, cleaning the car, vacuuming the swimming pool, repairing things, painting - just general stuff. Helping to keep the property looking nice.
    We prefer to have single volunteers, although the bed is a double. Although the little hut is not large, it is very charming and cosy. We are very friendly and open and have lots going on in our own lives, so it would be good if you enjoy your own company and/or are happy to find others to play with.
    If you are a nightclub, bar hopper etc., you would get bored in Leigh, but if you love the outdoors and beach and popping in to the city now and then, you will love it here. There are two local places where you can have a drink or dinner, get to know the locals and other young people and have a meal
    The Café is fantastic with lots of live music, friendly and busy and definitely our favourite! It is a popular restaurant, bar and venue for New Zealand and international bands. It is a wee gem and attracts people from all over the world.
    In addition, our local fish & chip provider and cafe – has just re-opened and offers delicious takeaway food, counter food and coffee. If you’re into snorkeling or scuba diving, Goat Island Reserve is just around the corner and Tauwharanui reserve is a 15 minute drive away. The latter is a favourite spot of ours for a picnic, complete with togs, a good book and a cold beer.
    Beyond that, the vibrant Matakana Village is just a short hop away (a 10 minute drive). It has the legendary Matakana Market on a Saturday morning (one of NZ’s most fabulous markets) and many other popular shops and amenities, including restaurants, bars, cafes, art galleries ... and … last but by no means least … our exquisite boutique cinema. Matakana has become one of Auckland’s favourite playgrounds and visitors flock to the region over the busy summer months for the beaches, wineries and relaxed country living that the region affords.
    Contact us if this suits you.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Small and charming 6 M2 cabin of your own (we usually only have 1 person at a time). There is an outdoor hot shower, and toilet close to the ‘Tiny House’. Not the Hilton, but very comfortable, cosy and charming….a bit like glamping.
    We have also created a small kitchen with all the facilities available enabling self catering for breakfast and lunch.
    You may want to join us for an evening meal and of course, we would expect you to share the clearing up and it would be nice to enjoy a meal cooked by you once a week.
    We enjoy cuisine from a range of different nationalities!.
    We totally understand you have your own life, just as we do, so you are not obliged to be with us all the time. Working 4 hours per day leaves time for you to explore the region or head into the city to get your dose of urban life.

    We are very careful about conserving water in summer because we are on tank water so short showers are a necessity. Of course there is the pool and the wonderful Matheson Bay at our door step, so you will be nice and fresh anyway. Water is like gold in summer – especially if we have a drought like last year!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you google Matakana Coast you will find out lots of information about this lovely part of North Auckland.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum: 4 hrs a day, 6 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 276183241795