Help welcomed while we renovate old chateau buildings in Sariac-Magnoac, south west France

Country

Francia

new host  

13 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Help us while we restore an old chateau in Hautes-Pyrenees - wonderful mountain views and quiet rural life. Our current project is to tame the wild gardens whilst starting to renovate bits of the house!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer a relaxed village life, living the way we do. We are French-speaking and can offer language lessons (if you like!) as well as wonderful views of the countryside, including the Pyrenees themselves.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Hello!

    We are a couple of ex-teachers originally from the UK, with 2 lovely lively lurchers, living in a small village in the Hautes Pyrenees - Sariac-Magnoac - just over the border from Gers. We recently moved into the local chateau - although the castle itself was taken down some centuries ago, we are left with a collection of old buildings including a pigeonnier and even a large chapel.

    We have 8 acres of land split into several fields and a lovely woodland garden, as well as a very overgrown path down to the river Gers. We are looking for help with cutting back overgrown areas, mowing, digging and planting. We have machines to help (strimmer/brush cutter/ride-on mower/tractor etc) but need outdoor lovers to help us with this part of our project.

    There are also several buildings to renovate, so we may ask you to help us with decorating or clearing if the weather is not good enough to be in the garden. For example, we have 2 very old "salles de gardes" - amazing vaulted rooms that need the concrete chipped off to reveal the beautiful old stones they were originally built from to house the soldiers guarding the chateau!

    You will be helping alongside us while we do the work - we will ask you for some strong help but we won't ask you to do anything we would not be doing ourselves and of course we will not be slave drivers!

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    German: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Double room in the old farmhouse, shared bathroom (at the moment!). The house is still quite basic although we have all facilities and on the plus side we have a wonderful open fire for colder evenings. Dogs have pretty much free run of the grounds and house so be prepared for some cuddles! We cook and eat together - outside if the weather is good.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We love travelling ourselves, Howard loves his motorbike trips and will be looking forward to going out on rides to discover more about the local area, whilst Ali has visited many countries and speaks several languages.

    Our village is small but very international and very friendly. Many of the villagers have lived there all their lives and remember the chateau from their childhood. Everyone we have met has been excited at the thought of it being restored back to life as it is a bit neglected and unloved.

    Sariac-Magnoac is a wonderful place to explore the local area, including Gers and the Hautes Pyrenees. There is a small local market on Saturdays in Castelnau-Magnoac (7 mins away) as well as a beautiful lake for swimming etc. Further afield, there are several more lakes for water sports, plenty of beautiful old towns and lovely countryside for walking.

    We are 1h 15 from Toulouse, 3 hours from Bordeaux and 30 mins from the foothills of the Pyrenees - for the skiers, we are 1h 20 from the nearest ski resort. So plenty to do including mountain-biking, parachuting, climbing, watersports, hiking, skiing etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have several fields available to park a van if necessary and all facilities available in the main house

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 266892212626