Come and help an ordinary Aussie family with many stories and experiences to share in Loch, Australia



20 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Super Host
  • Descripción


    We live in a peaceful, green, hilly area about 1.5 hours South East of Melbourne. Our two boys are 5 and 7 years old, we have 5 ducks, a horse, a pony, 2 small dogs and a large garden. We are always busy with our boys, renovating our house, working on the garden and looking after the animals. We would like Workawayers to help us with tasks that you are happy to try around our home, as well as telling our boys about your culture and language. We are happy to help you with learning English although our Aussie accents could make this interesting! We are about 1 hours drive from Phillip Island and the famous Penguin Parade. A public bus that goes between here and Melbourne is 5 minutes drive from our house. We are a hard working family and we like our visitors to be willing helpers who always try their best. We do not smoke and prefer non-smoking visitors. We don't drink alcohol but we are happy for our visitors to drink in moderation. Our boys are loud and full of energy. They are a lot of fun but you need to be clear with them when you need your own space.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are an ordinary Aussie family with many stories and experiences to share. If you are hoping to improve your English, we can help you - our boys will be delighted to teach you new words! We can teach you how to do different home and garden maintenance tasks. If you are driving along the East Coast of Australia, we are in an ideal position for your first stop after Melbourne or last stop before going to Melbourne. You will be well suited to stay with us if you want to experience Aussie family life in a quiet part of the country away from the busyness of big cities. We like to eat our evening meal together and for everyone to help with cleaning the kitchen after meals. We usually have a family meal together during the day on Sundays with any extended family who are visiting, and we love for our Workaway visitors to join us for this if they feel comfortable to. For anyone who is interested, Deb can teach about Australia's approaches to disability support and aged care.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We have a lot of different jobs that you can do depending on your skills and experience. We need help with babysitting/childminding - I (Deb) work from home a lot of the time so at times I need someone to play with them or look after them while I work. We need help with feeding and working our horse and pony but only if you have experience and are confident with horses. To make sure that you and our horses are safe, we will ask you detailed questions about your experience with horses before allowing you to work with or ride. Our garden needs a lot of work, so if you're happy to try, there is digging, pruning, weeding and planting to do. There are lots of jobs that need doing to finish off our renovation, so if you have the skills or would like to learn, we would love help with this too - Pete is a carpenter so he can teach you some skills if you are interested. There is always cleaning and housework to do, as well as cooking if this is something that you enjoy. In the autumn we need help with picking and cooking apples from our many apple trees. Sometimes we will work alongside our Workaway visitors and other times we will want you to work independently. This means that it may sometimes work better for at least one of your 5 work days to be on the weekend with another day off during the week but we will always try to be flexible.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a room with one queen sized bed in our large house. Our bedroom and the boys' room is on the other side of the house. There is a large (shared) bathroom next to the room. We have a large house with three separate living areas. There is also a separate building from the main house that visitors may choose to use if wanting some peace and quiet away from the children - there is no bathroom in this building though. There is free unlimited wifi access but we ask guests to check with us about use if we are working, particularly during the evenings when internet speed can be slow.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The nearby Loch Village has nice cafes and a couple of interesting shops, including a distillery and brewery. The town of Poowong has a small supermarket, post office and outdoor public swimming pool which is open during the summer months. If visitors do not have a car, it is important to be prepared with any supplies that you may need as it is not easy to walk to shops (and there are only a very small number of shops anyway). If you do not have a car, it can feel a little isolating here, so it is important that our visitors are genuinely happy to be away from the rush and convenience of city life. There are drives with picturesque views of the local farmland filled mainly with dairy cattle. There are beautiful beaches around 40 minutes away, and The Phillip Island Penguin Parade is a 1 hour drive. Wilson's Promontory National Park is roughly 2 hours drive. The Public bus service to Melbourne is 5 minutes drive away, and train to Melbourne or Bairnsdale in East Gippsland is 25 minutes away by car. A public bus goes between Poowong and the larger nearby town of Warragul once per week.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 266456429573