Help me create a permaculture project in Waterford, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

103 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    73.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 14 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello!

    My name is Kieran and I am living in a beautiful 19th century stone cottage by the River Suir outside Waterford city in Ireland.

    My grandfather bought this place over 100 years ago as he worked for the railways and it was owned by the rail company. My father was born in the cottage and I have been living there since March 2020 when the pandemic started.

    I am an artist and a yoga teacher and have great interest in permaculture and gardening. We have a big field with wonderful views of the river and the island with Waterford Castle on it and this is the area I want to develop for permaculture, gardens, and yoga and meditation.

    I am at the very early stages of this project and I envisage it will take the next 2 years to design and plant everything.

    The first stage of this project will begin in March 2022. We will spend this month planting at the front left of our field facing the river. This will be done to restore damage caused by our neighbour's construction and the planting will be ornamental as it aims to provide privacy.

    During March and April we will also spend time looking at the site and start to make plans on how best to use the site for regenerative agriculture. At the back of the field we have constructed three large terrace areas where we hope to start a food forest.

    As I mentioned, I am an artist as well so part of my time will be used working on my art projects. One of them in the coming months will involve working with a community in Kilmacthomas, County Waterford on issues related to climate change. I will be making collaborative pieces of art with the community. Kilmacthomas is in a great location as it can be reached from my cottage via Waterford's famous Greenway. So if any Workaway guests love cycling this is a great opportunity to live at my beautiful spot but also explore Waterford county on a bicycle. Kilmacthomas is situated near the copper coast and the Comeragh mountains so it is a perfect place to explore from.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    While you are volunteering with me you will have a great opportunity to experience Irish culture as I am very near Waterford city and I am involved in several art projects there. Also you can enjoy free yoga classes with me and can enjoy the beautiful nature all around Waterford county. I also have taught English before so can help you improve your English. I will provide full room and board so that your stay will be very inexpensive in Ireland.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am looking for help with planting and general maintenance. I have a spare room in the cottage which is perfect for 1 person or a couple (friends or partners) to sleep in. I am hoping for volunteers to help me for 2 - 3 hours a day for 5 days a week and in return I will provide delicious vegetarian food and a place to stay.

    After the couple hours of work in the morning your time is totally free to explore. I am a 15 minute cycle away from Waterford's famous greenway cylce path which goes all the way to Dungarvan. Another one is opening soon near my house which will go to New Ross.

    There are many beautiful places in Waterford county to explore as it has amazing mountains and beaches. If you love nature, cycling, camping, gardening, yoga, art, and having a laugh then my home will be perfect for you.

    I identify as gay and non-binary and am very welcome to LGBTQ+ and also to those who are not LGBTQ+

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would especially love volunteers who speak Spanish but that is not necessary.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A 2 storey 19th century stone cottage with 2 bedrooms. You will have your own private bedroom and full use of the house and land.

    I will provide 3 meals a day to all guests. All meals will be vegetarian and where possible, vegan. I usually have a breakfast of porridge with fruit, lunch with homemade bread and either soup and and salad, or sandwiches. In the evening, I make a variety of different types of meals but often make Indian or Thai Curries or other type of 'hot pot' dishes or stews. I also make home made desserts that are usually vegan and I try to use sugar as little as possible. Guests are welcome to consume alcohol but I will not provide that, and I ask all guests to drink in moderation unless we are having a party.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are countless things you can do with your time off nearby. The city is only 10 minutes away on a bike. You can enjoy the pubs and restaurants and cultural centres in the city. You can also go sailing in Dunmore East, surfing in Tramore, climb the comeragh mountains, go swimming in stunning glacier lakes. The list is endless. Or you may just want lots of quiet time by the river at the cottage and that is ok too.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have a great WI FI connection and work online myself.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Cats are OK but not dogs

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2-3 hours help in the morning, 5 days a week.



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 257261145621