Small family farm near Mackay in Northern Queensland, Australia

  • Australia
  • 481 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 2 dic 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We are a smoke and drug free family of myself, my husband Richard, and currently our oldest daughter (22 years old) and sometimes her boyfriend living on a 35 acre property about 50 minutes out of Mackay, Queensland. Our youngest daughter Danielle (20 years old) lives in town but visits often. We eat a normal diet but can cater for vegetarians easily.

    We also have as part of our family 3-4 large dogs (one lives with Danielle but often returns for spells at home), 1 small dog (miniature schnauzer), 2 inside cats, rabbits and birds. On the farm we have sheep, goats, alpacas, cows, farm dogs, chickens and pigs.

    Jobs required would be feeding the farm animals, cleaning out cages, doing the simple fencing like mowing and spraying under fence lines to keep grass out of fence, getting electric fences to work, gardening, some house work when required. You are responsible for helping us with the dishes and keeping the house clean. You are welcome to have cuddles with the animals anytime, the farm ones once the two farm dogs know you.

    Your accommodation is in our house, in your own room. You will be sharing the bathroom with my daughter. The toilet is separate from the shower. We are also on rain water so water is very important to us and not to be wasted, so you need to be water wise. You will have dinner with us to get to know us as a family and experience both New Zealand and Australian ways. We are New Zealanders living in Australia. We also provide breakfast and lunch but we often are all eating these two meals at different times from the rest of our family due to other commitments.

    Our house is based just north of Mackay, in a town called Gargett, in North Queensland. We are on 35 acres, 50 minutes from town. There is no public transport near our house, so a car is preferable if you wish to go anywhere on your days off. In saying this someone goes into town most days so we would be able to take you in around work times.

    There is lots to do around this area on your days or times off. You have Eungella, Finch Hatton Gorge, beaches, Airlie Beach and the Whitsundays all within a one to two hour drive.

    We look forward to meeting you and learning more about your culture, and sharing ours. We have had in excess of 90 Workawayers from all areas of the world and love meeting new people.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are New Zealanders living in Australia, so we have a mixed culture between the two countries. We are happy to help you improve your English, show you around as much as possible, and interact with you. You will learn a lot about looking after animals, and if you have any knowledge of this area I am always looking for ideas and to learn more myself.

  • Ayuda


    Tidying up the yards, raking poo and hay, and spreading it around gardens. Feeding animals twice daily, this takes about 30 minutes each time. There would be light house duties depending on the help needed.
    You do need to be reasonably strong and healthy/fit, and be prepared to work outdoors. Jeans and boots is a must, but we do have gumboots here depending on your size feet.
    I prefer someone with common sense and who can see what needs to be done. If unsure you are always best to ask rather than assume and get it wrong.
    You will need closed in shoes, a rain coat for summer months as this is our wet season, and long sleeve pants and tops for being on the farm to protect from the sun, the long grass, spiders and snakes. Yes you are in Australia!!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Your own bedroom with a king bed, a shared bathroom and toilet with my daughter.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    When you have time off, close by is Eungella, Finch Hatton Gorge, Airlie Beach, the Whitsunday Islands, and several other beaches close by. Town is nearly an hour away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    If you have your own van you want to park here there is heaps of room to do so. If you want to stay in it we can connect you to power.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 254841596448

Comentarios (33)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

A beautiful house suitable for a couple or family on 9 acres near Hepburn Springs, Daylesford and Castlemaine, Australia
Help in our home or beatuitful garden in tropical rainforest near Cairns, Australia