Turning our mountain golf course into a food forest, according to Permaculture principles in Stranda, Norway

Country

Noruega

29 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of three; Stein, Sindre Luca and Hege Kristin. We currently live in a very traditional Norwegian house, dated 1901. The house and property of 885 acres is the family heritage of Stein. We have lived and worked here since 2015.

    Our little family always have many projects going on and we are used to have many visitors from all over the world staying with us. In 2022 we will be building a new private home at the property and our home from 1901 will continue to undergo smaller renovations. We are at the beginning of remodelling parts of the old barn which will be one of three step towards turning our property into sustainable living, after Permaculture principles.

    Our farm, no longer holds animals, but is functioning today as a storehouse for golf course machinery. However, we do have three pet goats on the farm; Silke, Snowy and Nessie. They provide our Permaculture project with manure and help with forest management. They also join us when we hike the mountains. We also wish to have a cat, dog, chickens and bees within a couple of years.

    Our home is located 15 min drive from the centre of Stranda where you may find a hotel, a few handy shops, two coffee shops, two restaurants and a popular mountain guide service. We are located in the midst of the Alps of our region and close to the Geirangerfjord which is a UNESCO heritage listed area. A popular part of our country to visit if you enjoy nature life: mountaineering, off pist powder skiing, fishing and kayaking!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Staying with us you will be introduced to the establishment of Permacultural principles on our farm, we will share of our knowledge and will have a professional PC designer occasional visiting the farm helping us out.
    You will have short access to our beautiful fjords and mountains! We are used to welcoming people from all of the world for many years already and we see that could be beneficial. You will be introduced to our traditional houses from 1850 and 1901.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    In May and June 2022 we have full focus on being outdoors and taking steps towards making our Eco-project happening. We would love for you to join us in this process!

    This project in the planning is not commercial but a private initiative on the farm. It is an invitation to be part of an extended family, communal approach. Our other jobs are running the golf course (one firm) and running a guest house (another firm) but our work away guests will not take part in these kind of related activities. When we welcome work away guests in the periode May and June 2022 we will have no other guests staying with us.

    YOUR initiative is welcomed! Perhaps you have Eco related knowledge/skills that you would like to share with us? Here are some examples of tasks you may help out with:
    Smaller forest management tasks
    Wood chopping and -stacking
    Harvesting birch leaves for our goats winter supply
    Harvesting gras for our goats
    Foraging in June and making pestos
    Preparing vegetable gardens
    Sow seeds and plants
    Maintaining garden
    Manure management
    Planting trees
    Building fences
    Smaller paint tasks inside and outside the house

    For the months of May and June we may also consider hosting a family, with children around the same age as our son. We will be looking for someone with common interest and knowledge of Permacultural principles.

    We also consider it natural that we take turns in preparing meals and and that we help each other keep the common areas, such as kitchen, bathrooms, living room areas and entrance, clean.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We would love to learn Hiragana and Katakana, Japanese.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be given a private room, have access to bathroom and kitchen on the second floor in the house farm from 1901. (Or park outside on the property with your camper van). We will be staying in the same house, but on 1st floor. You may have to share the 2nd floor with other work away participants too. We prefer that we eat meals together. However, you will have access to prepare your own food too in our guest kitchen. The house is old and we are trying to keep it as authentic as possible. However, bathrooms with showers are modern and we also have fireplaces and modern heating. We do not have TV, but WIFI and CD/Radio player. It is great if you enjoy rustic!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are located in the midst of all top attractions of our area! Within less than an hour your may reach the pittoresk city Aalesund, Trollstigen, Geiranerfjord and our Sunnmoere ALPS. Kayaking is great here. The fjords are often cold for swimming but perhaps a fresh and courageous challenge? Several hiking trails are in immediate reach for both beginners and advanced hikers. Fishing from shore and in our rivers/lakes.

    We recommend that you have driving licence and insurance. You may arrive to and from with public transport but it sure is more convenient to get around when you have your own car.

    If you are able to stay more than one week - we would be able to get to know each other better!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a large parking lot which is suitable for parking campervans during your stay with us. We are able to provide access to toilet and showers in the main house.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 252842384411