Help at an Icelandic riding school, trekking and dog boarding centre, in Shetland, United Kingdom

Country

Gran Bretaña

658 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    18/01/2022

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have the only Icelandic Horse Riding School and Trekking Centre in the UK. We are a family run business who also do Dog Home Boarding. We have a small farm in Shetland which is a small island half way between Scotland and Norway. We have sheep, goats, ducks and chickens.
    We speak English and are technically Scottish although locals from Shetland prefer to think of themselves as Scandinavian.
    We have a large garden with raised beds for vegetables and we are hoping to put up a polycrub to grow more inside.
    We try to grow as much of our own food as possible in an organic way.
    Our Riding School has 6 Icelandic Horses which we use for lessons in the riding school and for taking tourists out for treks. The tourist trekking season starts at the beginning of April and runs through to the middle of October , this is the main period of time when I would be looking for help. However, winter help would also be helpful.
    I am ideally looking for someone who is experienced around horses and would be confident in helping out with riding lessons and in leading treks with tourists. Experience with Icelandic horses would be very beneficial to us but not essential.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you are a rider who has not experienced the wonderful Icelandic Horse then you are in for a real treat, I will warn you though, they are very addictive!
    If you are not a rider then lessons can be provided during your time here.
    Shetland is a unique and fantastic place with rugged coastline and amazing views around every corner.
    It will be required that you can speak some English but if your English is not the greatest then the best way to learn is to be immersed in the language.
    Shetland is a very safe place to live and has a very low crime rate so it is somewhere that you will feed safe and secure.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I need someone who is friendly, helpful and reliable, also someone who is able to get along with everyone who they may come into contact with.
    I would need you to be prepared to help out with all chores around the croft, with the animals, in the house, in the garden, with the horses, and with the dogs.
    Work around the croft - this will involve work in the fields keeping down on the weeds, poo picking, helping to spread fertiliser, helping with small ditching and fencing projects, painting and general maintenance.
    Work with the animals - this would involve feeding, moving, drenching, mucking out of animals and general animal husbandry.
    Work around the house - this would be general housekeeping and cooking when required.
    Work in the garden - this will involve planting, weeding, mulching, harvesting and small gardening projects.
    Work around the horses - this would be feeding horses and keeping stables stables clean. We do not stable our horses unless they are sick so daily mucking out of horses normally is not required.
    Keeping tack clean and supple, keeping feed stores organised and clean, washing out feed buckets, keeping a check on feed stocks and collection of feed from suppliers, harrowing riding arena with quad before lessons, general maintenance around the yard.
    You will be responsible for making sure that the horses always have clean water and that they are checked a on daily basis. Reporting back to me if any of the horses are looking out of sorts in any way.
    You will be required to catch up, groom and tack up horses ready for lessons/treks then feed, brush off and return the horses to their fields after being ridden. I will need you to be competent to lead treks or accompany me on treks.
    This will involve you having contact with travellers from all over the world who have come to have a wonderful experience enjoying my amazing horses and the fantastic views that Shetland offers, so a sunny friendly disposition is essential.
    Helping out with farrier, equine dentist and vet's visits.
    Work around the dogs - this would be help with feeding, exercising and cleaning up after them. The dogs are boarded in the house along with my dogs, they are not kennelled, they live with us so a love of dogs is essential. ,

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation - we have a caravan set up outside the house which is small but warm and comfortable. It has electricity connected to it and wifi. This would be for your use only and you would be free to have visitors if you so wish.
    You would be welcome to use the kitchen, sitting room and bathroom and you would be encouraged to become "part of the family" during your time here,
    You would have your meals with us in the house and you would use our bathroom for daily cleanliness.
    If you own your own horse or dog there is a possibility that you could bring it with you for the time that you are here.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a regular bus service and we are 20 minutes away from the main town of Lerwick. Shetland has lots to offer if you are a Nature and animal lover with seals, orcas, otters, literally hundreds of Shetland ponies, puffins, and much much more.
    The social life in Shetland is great also with lots of festivals and events during the summer months.
    We also have the "Simmer Dim" where it does not get dark between the months of June and August so the days are long and the nights are short.
    We do rides on the beach at night which is an amazing experience.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have electric hookup and flat hard standing to accommodate a camper van.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes we can accept workdays with a dog/s also if the workaday has their own Icelandic horse they would be welcome to bring it with them.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 6 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 249177523273